Thundersport GB: All the action from Anglesey

In News, Thundersport GB

IT was another weekend of fierce action at Thundersport GB as the club made its annual trip to Wales.

Fresh off his Bennetts British Superbike debut last month, Joe Sheldon-Shaw dominated proceedings in the opening GP1 race at Anglesey.

But it was Manxman Ryan Cringle who took control on Sunday, beating Lee Williams and Rory Parker to top the tables as Max Stainton’s two non-scores means he’s now just five points clear of Brendan Mallinder at the head of the big bike tables.

Wirral 100 front-runner Joey Taylor was the best of the GP1 Sportsman riders with two wins from three, before Ryan Cooper took race three ahead of series leader Ashley Thompson.

Over in the Elite 600 ranks, Max Wadsworth cut Ryan Dixon’s points lead to just 22 as he powered to a hat-trick, beating Dixon each time as Tomo Burnett and Jamie Cringle shared thirds.

Wilf Turner was denied a clean sweep of the Pre-National 600 Sport wins after Steven Butterworth stole top honours in race one, but the points leader now sits almost 100 clear of his closest rival. Freshman leader Kris Gent bolstered his advantage with a hat-trick in the rookie class ahead of Keith Stringer and Leigh Jarrett, while Joe Miles picked up the race four victory.

Golden Era Supersport man Matty Whelan cleared off in the pre-injection class ahead of Dan Frear by an average of 10sec each time, while Tony Waistnage upset the top three overall with four Steelsport wins and outright podium finishes.

Chris Barnes, Matt Layt and Ryan Strafford all picked up wins in the Supertwin class but thanks to Layt’s two DNFs and Strafford’s record of zero retirements this season, the Yorkshireman now sits top of the pops.
Meanwhile, Adrian Teasdale’s clean sweep of the Stocktwins class just behind gives him an even bigger lead over Alex Mann and Jason Markham.

Youngster Jack Smith continued to pull ahead in the Junior Cup ranks with another four from four, while Alex Duncan’s three Superteen wins to Katie Hand’s one puts him a step closer to her points lead.

Sportsman Ross McCulloch topped the box in three of the four CB500 scraps as he shared outright wins with Grant Whitaker, but Josh Leaning was never far behind as he fought to keep touch with his title rival Whitaker in the standings.

Lee Terry looked on for a clean sweep of the GP1 Classics class after dominating on Sunday, but a race three DNF on Monday allowed Teasdale to pick up victory before Terry was back on top to round out the Bank Holiday.

In the GP1 Cup ranks, Gary Ford cleared off to bank all four victories ahead of Austen Webster, Graham Brooks and Jak Brayer, while Nick Williamson took home all four Golden Era Superbike wins with Owen Richardson, Greg Lewis and Jack Petrie sharing rostrum honours.

Click here for results from Thundersport GB round five at Anglesey

You may also read!

Darley Moor: The rest of the action from the Stars at Darley

DARLEY Moor club championships came to a close on Sunday as the 2021 title winners were all decided. After taking

Images: Neil Lambert

Wirral 100: The rest of the action from the Anglesey Grand

NEARLY 30 races rounded out the Wirral 100 season as championships went down to the wire this past weekend. All


Masters Superbikes: Records rewritten as support class champs crowned

SUPPORT class champs were crowned in record-breaking fashion last weekend as the Masters Superbike Championship came to a head


Mobile Sliding Menu