EMRA: Dawson and Blunt lead action-packed round five

In EMRA, News
Images: Kev Gunstone

Louis Dawson and Richard Blunt starred at EMRA’s fifth round at Mallory Park this past weekend as they took four wins from four.

Aprilia rider Dawson even managed a victory from the back of the grid as sunshine hit the Leicestershire circuit while red flags played havoc.

The Pallett Bros memorial race, which was also the first Mallory Trophy race, began as a tremendous scrap with Dawson holding off Ashley King and John Ingram (who had started his day off well by winning the first Allcomers race). Three laps in, Ingram had closed to less than half a second behind Dawson, but on lap four rider and machine were taking separate high speed paths through the gravel trap at the bottom of the Devil’s Elbow as Ingram slid off.

Dawson scored four wins from four between his big RSV4 and the little RS660 twin

From that point on Dawson was clear of trouble while King spent the rest of the race in a furious battle with Ricky Tarren for second place. The race was red-flagged after nine laps when Tom Hodge crashed at the hairpin, with Dawson’s Aprilia five seconds ahead of King with Tarren a close third (and first 600). As co-sponsor, with Des Fleetwod of the Pallet Bros Memorial Trophy and having benefitted from the support of Dennis Pallet in his early racing career, Ingram was keen to be on the startline to present the trophy and was out of his scraped leathers and ready when the three riders returned for their presentation with just a mangled finger to show for his crash.

The second Mallory Trophy scrap was a repeat podium, but with the Twins race following immediately, having to switch to the 660 Aprilia meant Louis had to join the grid for the Twins race at the back, one row behind championship leader Jamie Kelman, who had tipped off at the hairpin while lying second to Dawson in race one.

After one lap Kelman was seventh and Dawson ninth, having each passed nineteen riders in one lap, and by the next time around they were fifth and sixth before Dawson was second on lap three and breathing down the neck of Richard Saunders with Kelman up to fourth. Dawson took the lead on lap four and then it was just a matter of  holding on while Kelman came through to second. Eight consecutive wins have brought Dawson up to 35 points behind Kelman, with double points on offer in the final two races next month.

Tarren picked up both Open 600 wins…

Richard Blunt was the other star performer with four wins from four starts on his CB500 Honda. The first of the CB500 races began with Blunt shadowing Darren Faulkner but at half distance he took the lead before pulling away, with Faulkner joining the crashers’ club at the hairpin on lap nine. Second place went to Terry Allsopp who managed to hold off the battling trio of Dan Brett, Liam Sylvain and Daniel Love all of whom were less than half a second behind him.

In the second CB500 race Blunt had an easier ride as Faulkner had to start from the back and although he passed ten riders on lap one there was only time to get up to fourth behind Blunt, Silvain and Love. Both of the Marine Fabrications open 500 races showed the same top four – Blunt, Faulkner, Sylvain and Love.

Alex Pearson and Reece Cashman shared the results in the Midland Superbike Performance Rookies championship races. . Cashman held off Pearson’s challenge right up to the last lap, but then narrowly avoiding someone else’s accident lost the lead, at which point the race was red-flagged after eight laps with Pearson taking the win.

Cashman took a Rookie class victory

In the second race, David Kortegas took the early lead with Cashman moving into the lead on lap three while Pearson gave himself a mountain to climb with a slow start, down in sixth on lap one before taking second on lap four, but yet another red flag brought that race to a premature end as Cashman bagged victory. The results bring Pearson to within 19 points of championship leader Sam Leach.

Tarren won both Tamworth Yamaha Open 600 races with Kurtis Butler narrowly beating Jed Bird for second in both events while Cashman followed up his Rookie victory with a fourth in race two.

Aaron Staniforth spent six laps chasing Steve Brittain in the first Pre-injection battle before nabbing the lead on lap seven and then crashing on the last lap at the hairpin, along with many others, leaving Brittain to take yet another win which he followed up with another in race two.

Brittain leads Brocklebank and Staniforth in the Pre Injection race

John Lea achieved his customary runaway victory in the Alamo Racing Sound of Music two-stroke races, turning in lap times on his TZ250 that would have put him fourth in the Mallory Trophy races. Alan Moreton was second in both races, with Allan Hoyland taking the Earlystocks hounours both times. Gary Arden won the 125 category twice but Sam Ward’s second places give him the championship, while Shane Hodgkinson won the 450 class on his 300 Yamaha.

Click here for results from EMRA round five

You may also read!

Darley Moor: The rest of the action from the Stars at Darley

DARLEY Moor club championships came to a close on Sunday as the 2021 title winners were all decided. After taking

Images: Neil Lambert

Wirral 100: The rest of the action from the Anglesey Grand

NEARLY 30 races rounded out the Wirral 100 season as championships went down to the wire this past weekend. All


Masters Superbikes: Records rewritten as support class champs crowned

SUPPORT class champs were crowned in record-breaking fashion last weekend as the Masters Superbike Championship came to a head


Mobile Sliding Menu