Wirral 100: The rest of the action from Round 1

In News, Wirral 100

WIRRAL 100 riders finally hit Anglesey this weekend as the club descended on its home circuit for the first round of 2019.

With defending champs and wildcards among the ranks, the Welsh track was rife with action.

Chris Eden dominated the Paul Bland Formula 600s with two wins over Chris Jones and James Chawke, the first by just over two seconds as Jones held off the Irishman to take second.

Eden (22) swept the 600s, even on an older-generation ZX6R…

Eden then powered to a 6.767sec victory in race two in a repeat podium as he once again led the pack of Kwaks across the line.

Adrian Kershaw fell into an R1 sandwich on his 750 Kawasaki after missing out on the Pre Electronics Powerbike spoils by just 0.160sec, while Jon Wright took the win ahead of he and fellow Yam rider Liam Evans.

And race two ended in nearly identical fashion, with Wright ahead of the reigning Allcomers champ by just 0.182sec as Greg Lewis bagged the final rostrum spot.

Wright continued his charge when he descended on the Pre Injection ranks, beating Lewis and Evans by no more than a second to make it a perfect weekend with four wins from four.

Defending champ Mike Bampton made easy work of the 650 Twins class, beating Tim Sayers by a combined margin of over 20sec as Max Dixon, the only Suzuki rider in the field, cruised home for two thirds.

Simon Robins edged 2018 Golden Era Supersport Tim Bradley to two wins for a class clean sweep. And while third-placed Ray Stevenson wasn’t far behind in race one, his repeat podium was over in race two when he retired with one to go, leaving the spoils to James Leatham.

Millard dominated the Forgotten Era class on his Formula 400…

Formula 400-mounted Phil Millard controlled the front of the Forgotten Era pack with a double victory and plenty of time to spare. Stephen Kennedy took a lone runner-up finish in the first scrap, but Ian Riley got the better of him in the second to take silver.

Jamie O’Brien fended off Ben Ashcroft by less than three tenths of a second to score the first Allcomer points of the season, but after an early lead in race two, Darren Jones flew by on his 125 Honda and powered to a nearly four-second victory. Ashcroft and Andrew Jackson split the remaining podium spoils.

With Powerbikes leader Jamie Coward not out for the Anglesey Senior Open, Scott Shand grabbed the win over 600 entrants Eden and Jones. In the Lightweight Open, Dixon led every lap and crossed the line with almost 6.5sec to spare ahead of Baker and Jackson.

Sam and Adam Christie continued preparations for their FIM World Sidecar Championship assault with two Sidecar wins and a drop into the 1:11s, crossing the line with seconds to spare over Rob Biggs and Jeroen Schmitz, while Manxmen Ryan and Callum Crowe shared the rostrum with Lewis Blackstock and Paddy Rosney.

*Click here for results from Wirral 100 Round 1

*Image: Neil Lambert

You may also read!

No Limits: Trueloves take opening endurance spoils as Vickers and Jordan suffer DQ

MATT and Harry Truelove scored the first No Limits Endurance victory of 2020 after a three-hour battle at Snetterton

Image: Kev Gunstone

EMRA: Ryde and Jeacock share big bike spoils

KYLE Ryde and Leon Jeacock kicked their 2020 campaigns off in style with the lion's share of big bike


Roads star Harrison set for Superstock 1000 assault

DEAN Harrison looks set to storm the National Superstock 1000 grid this season as the road racing star makes


Mobile Sliding Menu