Wirral 100: Shand boosts Powerbikes lead as Eden moves ahead in Senior points

In News, Wirral 100

SCOTT Shand stretched his lead in the Carl Roberts Racing/Emjess Racing Powerbikes series despite a crash at Anglesey on Sunday.

But as the crash left him sidelined from the second Wirral 100 Senior race of the weekend, he has now slipped to second in the points behind the flying Chris Eden.

Arriving at the fourth round with a nine point lead over nearest rival Graham Hornby, Shand was hoping to repeat his unbeaten performance at the previous round.

Chris Eden has taken the lead in the Senior class after a win at Anglesey…

And he was well on his way to doing so, placing his R1 on pole before going on to win the first three races, twice beating Chris Lacy to the line, while Hornby finished runner up in the third scrap.

However, his winning ways ended in the final race when he slipped off at the Corkscrew, enabling Joey Taylor to take his first win ahead of Hornby, who is now Shand’s only rival for the title.

In the Pre-2009/Pre-Electronics Powerbikes category the season-long battle between Adrian Kershaw on the ZXR 750 and Jon Wright’s R1 continued to rumble on.

With three wins and a third at Anglesey, Kershaw has taken it to within one point of Wright ahead of the final round.

Shand had also been leading the Anglesey Senior points when he arrived at the track and as expected, took the first win from Max Wadsworth with Eden third.

However, that earlier fall proved costly as he was forced to miss the second Senior race and watch Eden take the spoils from Wadsworth. As a result, Kawasaki 600 man Eden is now in control of the championship with a 14-point lead over Shand.

*Click here for full results from Wirral 100 Round 4 at Anglesey

*Image: Neil Lambert

You may also read!

Sunday start among proposed Manx GP/Classic TT schedule changes

MANX Motor Cycle Club chiefs have revealed a number of proposed schedule changes for 2020 in a bid to


New proposed schedule for Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT

Check out the full proposed 2020 Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT schedule, with new changes to the practice


2019 UK Clubsport Rider of the Year: Luke Hopkins

WE may have revealed all of our reader voted winners for this year’s UK Clubsport awards, but now it’s


Mobile Sliding Menu