Ulster SBK: Seeley crowned Superbike and Supersport champ with Bishopscourt clean sweep

In News, Ulster SBK

ALASTAIR Seeley secured both the Ulster SBK Superbike and Supersport championships yesterday as the series hit Bishopscourt Racing Circuit.

The Carrikfergus man remains unbeaten in the Superbike Championship this year, starting the day with an 88 point advantage and only Ali Kirk able to stop him lifting the title, but with another double victory and only one round remaining the title was his. 

In the first race Kirk put in a challenge in the early laps, but Seeley upped the ante and taking the win just over two and a half seconds ahead of Kirk and Jason Lynn, who had had a close battle with Gary McCoy a further 2.4sec in arrears, with Lynn’s JMcC Roofing team-mate Jonny Campbell fifth.

Seeley leads a gaggle of big bikes en route to the USBK crown and Enkalon Trophy…

Race two turned out to be a repeat of the first with Kirk putting in an early challenge, but as the race progressed Seeley opened up a gap and took the flag 3.114sec ahead of Kirk with Lynn, McCoy and Campbell again completing the top five. 

As well as securing the Ulster Superbike Championship, Seeley lifted the Enkalon Trophy presented to the Superbike rider who accumulated the most points over the two races, making it the third time his name went on the prestigious silverware.

Also up for grabs was the Supersport Championship and the David Wood Trophy, presented to the highest points scorer in the two 600cc races. And yet again, Seeley put in two dominant performances, winning both outings with relative ease to complete a fantastic four-of-a-kind.

Road racer Adam McLean was runner up in both the 600cc races followed by McCoy who took the final step on the podium in both races.

Sweeney (65) and Tweed (59) took a win each in the Supertwin races.

Fellow roads men Michael Sweeney and Darryl Tweed dominated the Supertwin races with the pair sharing the honours with two of the closest races of the day. Race one was Tweed’s with a winning margin of only 0.077sec, but Sweeney took race two as he crossed the line with just a second to spare.

In the other support races, Andrew Brady continued his winning run in the Pre-Injection class with another two wins.

Both Ajay Carey and Lee Hara both hit the top step of the podium in the Supersport 300/MotoOne races, while Stuart McCann and Barry Kelly both took top honours in the Superbike/Supersport Cup as Stephen McKeown and Alex Conroy banked the Classic spoils.

Mark Camblin and Cookstown’s man of the meeting Barry Davidson had a win each in the Moto3/Lightweight Supersport/250/Classic GP scraps.

You may also read!

Darley Moor: The rest of the action from the Stars at Darley

DARLEY Moor club championships came to a close on Sunday as the 2021 title winners were all decided. After taking

Images: Neil Lambert

Wirral 100: The rest of the action from the Anglesey Grand

NEARLY 30 races rounded out the Wirral 100 season as championships went down to the wire this past weekend. All


Masters Superbikes: Records rewritten as support class champs crowned

SUPPORT class champs were crowned in record-breaking fashion last weekend as the Masters Superbike Championship came to a head


Mobile Sliding Menu