Ulster GP: Hickman shatters record with 136mph lap in opening Superbike race

In News, Roads, Ulster Grand Prix

PETER Hickman tore up the record books with a 136mph lap and a dominant win in today’s Circle K/Airport Road Service Station Superbike scrap.

The Smith’s BMW rider destroyed the field and gave the fonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix back its title as the world’s fastest road race as he clocked a 136.415mph average lap to take victory before the race was red flagged with less than a lap to go.

But it was disaster from the off for Davies Motorsport’s Dominic Herbertson, who stalled his bike on the grid while the pack tore off ahead of him.

Hickman got a strong start from pole position, but by the time the pack hit Lougher’s it was Silicone Engineering’s Dean Harrison who led Padgett’s man Conor Cummins, with the Smith’s man back in third.

As the field came around for the first lap, Harrison held the lead by 0.233sec as Hickman moved up ahead of Manxman Cummins, with Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston just half a second further back in fourth and Davey Todd almost two seconds adrift in fifth.

Back at Joey’s Windmill on lap two, Harrison held station over Hickman and Cummins as RK/Burrows Engineering rider Derek Sheils joined the fight for the top five, but by the time they crossed the line to begin lap three, Hickman had cut Harrison’s lead to just 0.180sec.

Hickman made a move for the lead as the riders headed to the back of the Dundrod circuit and immediately set about stretching a lead as Harrison and Cummins dropped a full three seconds back as Hickman pulled the pin and clocked the record-setting 136.415mph lap.

With a nearly six second lead on the final lap, Hickman cruised to victory as Harrison bagged the runner-up spot a few seconds clear of Cummins in third, the latter of whom set the fastest speed trap time ever seen at the Dundrod circuit at 202.2mph.

Johnston crossed the line fourth some 10sec clear of Todd with David Johnson bagging sixth.

The battle just behind was led by Derek Sheils with Jamie Coward and Michael Sweeney just behind, as Irishman Brian McCormack completed the top 10.

Shortly after the red flag, UGP bosses reported that the rider involved was up and walking away.

*Click here for results from the 2019 Ulster Grand Prix

*Image: Derek Wilson

You may also read!

Sunday start among proposed Manx GP/Classic TT schedule changes

MANX Motor Cycle Club chiefs have revealed a number of proposed schedule changes for 2020 in a bid to


New proposed schedule for Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT

Check out the full proposed 2020 Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT schedule, with new changes to the practice


2019 UK Clubsport Rider of the Year: Luke Hopkins

WE may have revealed all of our reader voted winners for this year’s UK Clubsport awards, but now it’s


Mobile Sliding Menu