Thundersport GB: The rest of the action from Snetterton

In News, Thundersport GB

TRICKY conditions met Thundersport GB riders as they rolled into Snetterton this past weekend for their second round of 2019.

Craig Neve continued his tear on the GP1 Classic ranks with three dominant wins from four by over 16sec each time, dropping only one to Lee Terry on Saturday as the TT ace extended his points gap.

GP1 Classic title favourite Neve en route to a hat-trick...
GP1 Classic title favourite Neve en route to a hat-trick…

Alongside them, Aintree champ Greg Lewis made a clean sweep of the Golden Era Superbike class while Jason Siggs took a hat-trick in the new GP1 Sport category, leaving one to Glen Phillips while Terry Thomson, Thomas Lancaster and Karl Nicholson shared the GP1 Freshman spoils.

Luke Hopkins drew first blood in the 600 Elite class with a win over Arnie Shelton, but it was all change as 2018 runner-up Max Wadsworth dominated ahead of James Hind and reigning champ Dan Frear. But it was Shelton who ended the round on a high with victory over Hopkins in the final scrap.

In the 600 Sportsman class, last year’s No Limits Newcomer 600 champ Max Stainton dominated with a nearly 30sec victory over Chris Lavisher before Lavisher and Mantas Urmonas split wins on Sunday.

Ben Doolan narrowly beat comeback kid Adrian Teasdale to victory in the opening two Golden Era Supersport races. But Teasdale crashed out of contention on Sunday while running at the front, leaving Dan Taylor to pick up the final two wins over Doolan and Tony Waistnage.

Hopkins battling conditions to take a 600 Elite victory...
Hopkins battling conditions to take a 600 Elite victory…

Save a crash on Saturday which handed Gethin Edwards the win, Myerscough College lecturer Ryan Garside controlled the Steel Frame action and scooped a steelie hat-trick after swift repairs following his first race fall.

In the 500 Elite scraps, Grant Whitaker fired a warning shot to reigning title-holder Josh Leaning as he beat the 2018 champ in the first race before Reece Rothwell took the second win after both Whitaker and Leaning suffered DNFs.

But Leaning stamped his authority with a nearly 20sec win on Sunday morning as Whitaker doubled up in the final, beating Rothwell with a few seconds to spare.

Chris Kingham controlled the 500 Senior class action with four wins on the trot, while Josh Langman, Martin Bazeley and Chris Aimable shared the 500 Sportsman spoils. Four different winners hit the top step of the 500 Freshman class as Rob Humpleby, David Waters, Richard Hughes and Thomas Nicholls bagged a victory apiece.

Talbot nearly had a clean sweep of the Superteen races...
Talbot nearly had a clean sweep of the Superteen races…

Joe Talbot looked to be on for a dominant clean sweep of the Superteens races with a combined winning margin of nearly 70sec after three races, but he dropped off the podium in race four as Louis Rendell pipped British Junior Supersport regular Harris Beech to the top spot by just 0.153sec.

Pre National 600 Sport honours went to three riders as Dean Bedarnek, Josh Hipwell and Toby Trundle all took wins, while the two Gareths – Cunningham and Roberts – took home the 600 Freshman trophies.

In the Military Inter Services Challenge battle, Team Army came out on top as Pep Brown got the better of Wayne Morgan and John Miller for an Army one-two-three.

*Click here for results from Thundersport GB at Snetterton

*Images: Ian Boldy

You may also read!

Darley Moor: Baker lifts Curtis Milner Trophy

RICH Baker stormed to two Formula 600 wins at Darley Moor Motorcycle Road Race Club’s second round on his


ARA: Cringle cleans up with new record

RYAN Cringle continued his dominant run at Jurby as he swept all four big bike and 600 races at


RESULTS: PDMCC Round 1 – May 5, 2019

All the times and race results from Preston and District Motor Cycle Club Round 1 at Three Sisters Circuit... *Image: Martin


Mobile Sliding Menu