Saiger starts Superbike Classic TT as Harrison leads favourites

In Classic, IOMTT, News

CLASSIC TT bosses have revealed the starting order for this month’s RST Superbike race where Dean Harrison will start as one of the heavy favourites to take victory.

While the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki rider sets off at number two, he’ll be chasing big results after this year’s IOMTT performance and his 127mph laps at last year’s FoM.

Harrison starts 10 seconds behind number one entry Horst Saiger, who was forced to miss this year’s TT due to injury, aboard the Greenall Racing Kawasaki as the Austrian rider looks to match his podium finish from 2017.

Team Classic Suzuki’s new recruit Phil Crowe sets off at number three on a similar XR69 to what Michael Dunlop used in his 2015 and 2016 victories, while Team Winfield Yamaha’s Michael Rutter follows him down the road just ahead of James Hillier on the Oxford Products/Louigi Moto Ducati.

Mistral Racing Kawasaki’s all new line-up includes Northern Ireland’s Paul Jordan, who sets off sixth on the team’s striking green ZXR750.

The two Johnsons, Gary and Davo, head down Bray Hill seventh and eighth for Team York Suzuki, while Yorkshireman Jamie Coward aboard the Kraus Racing Kawasaki and Manxman Conor Cummins on the Padgetts Motorcycles Yamaha round out the top 10.

Former British Superbike champ Josh Brookes is hoping for better fortunes for 2018 as he starts 11th on the Wiz Norton Racing machine, having been forced to retire last year, ahead of strong TT Newcomer Davey Todd, Greenall Racing’s Derek Sheils and Alasdair Cowan Racing’s local man Andrew Dudgeon.

Sam West makes his Classic TT debut on a 750cc Suzuki in 15th, followed by Crowe’s Team Classic Suzuki compatriot Danny Webb on the iconic RG500.

Craig Neve and Manxman Michael Evans will also have 750cc Kawasakis at their disposal, while another meeting newcomer, Joey Thompson, completes the top 20 on a Ducati.

Scattered amongst the top 30 will be Rob Hodson, Dominic Herbertson, John Barton and Michael Russell who could all be challenging for strong results.

Austrian Julian Trummer makes his Classic TT debut on the ESS-Group Kawasaki with class regulars David Hewson, David Madsen-Mygdal, Paul Owen and Ben Wylie back for another try where they will be joined by Barry Lee Evans, Daniel Sayle, Raul Torras Martinez, Adrian Harrison and Kiwi newcomer Jay Lawrence.

*Image: Dave Kneen/Pacemaker Press

You may also read!

Wirral 100 cancels August round amid North West virus spike

CHIEFS at the Wirral 100 Motor Club have dropped the axe on their August meeting at Anglesey amid growing


SACU gets green light for Scottish bike racing return

SCOTTISH motorcycle racers have been given the green light to return to action from today after an easing of


RESULTS: No Limits Racing Round 1 – August 1-2, 2020

All the times and race results from No Limits Racing Round 1 at Snetterton... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - HM


Mobile Sliding Menu