Race of the Year round up: The rest of the action

In EMRA, News

ACTION was nothing short of fierce as the East Midland Racing Association hosted a handful of different races at Mallory Park’s Race of the Year this Sunday.

And plenty of close-cut competition was on tap, even after Brad Ray broke records in the Race of the Year and the Birchall boys dominated the Sidecar Race of the Year.

Moto 3 rider Asher Durham took two outright race wins, and even mixed it up with the 600s with a podium in the Open race…

Joe Sheldon-Shaw dominated the Open 175-600cc scraps aboard his ZX6R Kawasaki, where from a clear pole position he took two lights-to-flag wins over James Nagy.

The National Superstock 600 interloper beat Nagy to the line by nearly 17 seconds in race one and by over six seconds in race two as Ashley King took third in race one before Moto 3 pilot Asher Durham eclipsed King in race two to take over the final rostrum spot.

British Motostar interloper Durham dominated the combined Minitwins/80cc/125cc/250cc/Scooter races, winning race one by nearly 22 seconds from TZ250-mounted Daniel Walling and Myles Walsley on a NSF250 Honda.

He beat Walling to the line once again in race two, this time by some eight seconds as Team Green National Junior Cup and British Motostar Standard class regular Adi Behal rounded out the podium aboard a Moto 3.

British Supersport aces Andrew Irwin and Ben Currie dominated the first Buildbase Mallory Trophy scrap after a race-long battle as they have done in the BSB Support Series all year, the Irishman beating the Australian over the line by just 0.167 seconds as Richard Cooper sealed third.

No one could stop ACU champ Sam Grief, who took wins in the 50cc by 20 and 35 seconds…

But Cooper came to the fore and led every lap of the second race to take the win over three seconds clear of Phil Crowe, fresh off a Thundersport GP1 win at Donington the day before, and National Superstock 1000 regular Leon Jeacock.

Little bike ace Sam Grief destroyed the field in both 50cc races as he and his Kreidler classic machine zipped to a combined winning margin of nearly 55 seconds.

The ACU Classic 50cc champion beat EMRA 125GP runner-up Gavin Mills and fellow Kreidler racer Colin Purslow in race one before John Cooke pipped Mills for the runner-up spot in race two.

Grief had virtually no competition this weekend in what he described as his end to taking on “full time track championships in the U.K.”, even hinting at the possibility of Irish road racing and an Isle of Man debut in 2018.

*Click here for the full results round up from the Race of the Year at Mallory Park

*Images: Steve Snelling

You may also read!

British Mini Bikes plotting early May season opener

BRITISH Mini Bikes bosses have announced plans to kick off their season in just over four weeks' time despite


UK Clubsport to launch Honda Monkey Challenge in 2021

BOSSES at UK Clubsport can today reveal the launch of a brand new series for next season as they


Hospital nurse calls on riders to help with coronavirus management

A NURSE at a Northern Ireland hospital has called on the bike and sidecar racing community to aid the


Mobile Sliding Menu