Hickman takes fourth Stars of Darley title

In Darley Moor, News

PETER Hickman is the Stars of Darley winner for the fourth time in five years after a dominant weekend at Darley Moor.

The BSB pilot was one a number of big names who signed up to try and grab a piece of the action at the Darley Moor racing club’s traditional season showdown.

Hickman, of Louth, Lincolnshire, had been the pre-event favourite having already won it three times in the past. He had won in 2012, and then again in 2014 and 2015, and he was hoping to make it three in a row.

Peter Hickman has now won the Stars of Darley title four times in five years...
Peter Hickman has now won the Stars of Darley title four times in five years…

Aboard his JG Speedfit Kawasaki, Hickman was fast straight out of the blocks, taking pole and winning the opening race with ease as he beat fellow BSB man Richard Cooper over the line by 1.35seconds. He also set a new outright lap record with a time of 52.40seconds.

But if Race One had been an easy one, the second was to prove a bit tougher.

The 29-year-old got a bad start and dropped back to fourth. It took him several laps to move up to third and then up to second, as Cooper was out in front on his Buildbase BMW.

Cooper won the race with Hickman second but when the results were added together, Hickman was declared the winner on aggregate time.

“I am delighted to have won the title again. It was not without its problems though as we had to change the engine between qualifying and the first race,” he said.

“The boys worked hard and just got it finished as we were called to the grid so no time to check if all was ok. It must have been because Doris just went so well and we were never troubled.

“I went faster than ever before, after riding under lap record time in qualifying I actually broke the outright lap record during the race.  The second race was not so good. I got a terrible start and it took me half the race distance to catch up with the leaders.

“Once there I soon moved up into second place and just missed out on the double by 0.4seconds. That’s four times I have won the title now, in 2012 on a Kawasaki and then 2014/15/16 and with different Manufacturers, Honda, BMW and now Kawasaki.”

Click here for full results from the Stars at Darley Moor meeting

*Images: Ian Wilson

You may also read!

No Limits Racing: Earnshaws Motorcycles bag Croft endurance win

JAMES and Jonathan Lodge scored victory for Earnshaws Motorcycles this weekend as No Limits Racing's National Endurance series hit


RESULTS: No Limits Racing Round 4 – June 12-13, 2021

All the times and race results from No Limits Racing Round 4 at Croft... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - CFMoto


RESULTS: BSSO Round 2 – June 12, 2021

All the times and race results from BSSO Round 2 at Three Sisters... [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - BSA Bantam


Mobile Sliding Menu