No Limits: Cunnington Racing stretch Endurance lead with Anglesey win

In News, No Limits

CUNNINGTON Racing grabbed their second No Limits Racing Endurance victory of the season this weekend at Anglesey to extend their lead in the National title chase.

Joe Collier and Luke Hedger once again returned from Supertstock 1000 duties to join Liam Murtagh for the three-hour battle in Wales, and the trio were quick to assert their dominance from the word ‘go’.

Cunnington’s qualifying effort put them over 1.3sec ahead of defending champs KT Motorsport, made up of David Hall, Liam Marchant and Lee Payne, while Fastbikes’ finest – Carl Stevens, Bruce Wilson and Mike Booth – lined up third for the Le Mans-style start.

But when the flag dropped and riders made the trademark sprint, it was the Cunnington ZX-10 out front as KT and Clubman 1000 runners CT Racing slotted into second and third.

The series leaders had a fight on their hands, however, as KT kept them in sight and pounced on lap six to take the lead before Cunnington hit back 10 laps later to regain the top spot.

By lap 36, Cunnington was forced to take a pit stop and hand KT back the lead but just a few laps later, the defending champs had to do the same and the advantage went straight back.

It was smooth sailing from there for Collier, Hedger and Murtagh – but in the battle for second, the action heated up as one of the KT bike hit the deck with just under two hours completed, sending them tumbling out of a nearly-assured runner-up finish.

Their mistake paved the way for Fastbikes, ADSS Kawasaki and On It to dice for second spot, two laps down on Cunnington. And while the three kept their battle close as the final hour wound down, On It’s Andrew Stockdale, Lee Devonport and Mark Bridger came out on top of the fight as they beat ADSS’ Craig Watson and Chris Platt by just over nine seconds.

Meanwhile, a mere half second further back, the Fastbikes boys were forced to settle for fourth ahead of CT Racing and KT, the latter of whom climbed back up the order to finish sixth and consolidate their second-in-points standing.

Just a second behind the reigning champs were Arran Hands, Baz Dimelow and Josh Jones who bagged the Clubman 600 win, while Colin Norris and Gaz Evans took the National 600 spoils nearly a minute further adrift.

*Click here for times from No Limits Racing at Anglesey

*Image: Phil Newell

You may also read!

Ulster SBK: Armstrong lifts Norman Brown Memorial Trophy at Bishopscourt

AARON Armstrong ended Gerard Kinghan's hopes of a third straight Norman Brown Memorial Trophy after scooping victory at Bishopscourt


Manx Grand Prix: Sunday practice axed with lack of marshals

MANX Grand Prix and Classic TT action has been called off for today with a severe lack of marshals


No Limits: The rest of the action from Cadwell Park

NO Limits Racing riders had a mountain to climb as they descended on Cadwell this past weekend for their


Mobile Sliding Menu