No Limits: ADSS steals Oulton endurance win as Cunnington takes second

In News, No Limits

ADSS Kawasaki took their first Endurance win of the season at Oulton Park as they beat championship leaders Cunnington Racing to the chequered flag.

But it was nearly a disaster weekend for the series front-runners as a snapped chain cost them laps, allowing ADSS’ Craig Watson and Chris Platt to power to victory.

Liam Murtagh, Joe Collier and Cunnington’s guest rider, local ace Lee Williams, were the quickest in Friday’s qualifying on the wet Cheshire circuit as they powered to pole ahead of Clubman 600 runners Fatboy Racing and the Fastbikes squad.

Williams had looked to be building an insurmountable lead in the opening laps…

Williams made the sprint across the track to take the first stint in Saturday’s three-hour battle and immediately took control as he stormed to a 10sec lead after just three laps. And by lap 17 he was nearly a minute in front of the field.

But disaster struck moments later for Cunnington as Williams’ chain split down at the Shell Oils hairpin. The Thundersport front-runner made it back to the pits to hand off his transponder, but by then Cunnington was down in 29th, three laps down on new leaders ADSS.

From there, it was smooth sailing for Watson and Platt as they motored to their first win of 2019 with over a lap to spare while a heroic charge from Collier and Murtagh put them back on the box, just a couple of minutes adrift.

Watson and Platt celebrating their first win of 2019…

National 600 winners Kade and Luke Verwey gave Team XG Racing an overall podium and a class victory in third, while Karl Freeth, Mark Daines and Sean Kenyon bagged fourth for the Clubman 600 win.

Just over 30sec back were Fatboy Racing riders Barry Dimelow, Chris Jones and Jamie Devine, who took fifth some 16sec clear of Clubman 1000 winners Luke Scott and Andrew Stockdale of On It Racing.

With KT Motorsport out of action at Oulton, ADSS have moved ahead of the reigning champs in the points standings to take over second while Cunnington stretched their lead in the National 1000 series to 36 points.

RJS Superbike’s Jonathan Panter and Rob Simpson still head the Clubman and National 600 charges, while Mike Wheeler, Scott McFarlane and Phil Abel extended their advantage in the Clubman 1000 ranks.

*Click here for results from No Limits Racing at Oulton Park

*Main and action image: Colin Port

*Bottom image: ADSS Kawasaki

You may also read!

RESULTS: Darley Moor Round 6 – September 15, 2019

All the times and race results from Darley Moor Round 6 including the Graham Bywater Trophy and the ACU


RESULTS: Anglesey Plop Enduro – September 15, 2019

Times and race results from today's Plop Enduro seven-hour endurance race at Anglesey Circuit... *Image: Plop Enduro 1 22 C9 BRITISH


PDMCC race dates for 2020 revealed

BOSSES at the Preston and District Motorcycle Club have pulled the wraps off their 2020 calendar with just a


Mobile Sliding Menu