NGRRC round up: The rest of the action from Thruxton

In News, NG Road Racing

RECORDS were broken and championships were decided as the NG Road Racing Club descended on Britain’s fastest circuit for its final round of the year.

Even though Ant Hodson had already tied up the 250GP ACU National Championship, he came out swinging at Thruxton to stamp his dominance on the series.

The FCL Racing rider and Darrell Higgins drew clear of Phil Stead and Dan Jackson, but Higgins’ DTR TZ250 spat him off exiting Club on lap three. Luckily, the man who’s broken more than 75 bones in 35 years of racing, got up and walked away as Hodson took the win over Stead and Jackson.

With only pride to play for, ACU 250GP champ Hodson powered to both race wins…

Hodson took his 12th win of the year when he pipped Jackson by less than 0.4 seconds at the line as Phil Stead brought his much older TZ home third.

Derek Clark and Christopher Bird shared the spoils in the 125GP Bluebell Lakes National series with the longer race going right down to the wire as Bird squeezed out the win.

With two podiums, Clark secured second in the standings behind the absent James Hind.

The A&R Racing Formula 400 title came down to Harrison brothers Tom and Ben, with Will Bryant theoretically still within a shout.

Bryant pulled out of the qualifier with mechanical problems, Ben’s bike cut out at Allards and Tom clipped a backmarker and hit the tarmac at the club chicane – meaning all three contenders started from the back of the grid.

Despite their best attempts, Ben’s team couldn’t get their fuelling glitch sorted, meaning all brother Tom had to do was finish ahead of Bryant to take the title.

The remaining Harrison was in no mood to hang around, however, and stormed through the field to grab third behind runner-up Simon Gates and the winning Dorset Bikes ZXR of Steve Palmer.

Tom Harrison took the F400 title after brother Ben tragically missed out on the fight with mechanical woes…

Mike Wilson continued his run of winning form towards the end of the year to take a convincing F125 win on the CLV/Graham File Aprilia over James Bull and Brian Daly.

While not battling with his normal sparring partner Matthew Lawson, Andy Bloomfield took another Desmo Due A class win and successfully defended the title he won last year.

The 600cc Desmo B class win brought out a new winner in Oliver Benson aboard his machine after a close fight with Preston Tuby.

Formula Prostocks Racing’s Suzuki Bandit Challenge class win went to already-champion James McHardy, while Phil Webber took win 26 from 28 starts in the Pre-1987 Production class aboard his GSXR750 Suzuki.

William Holland took convincing wins in both the MPH Moto Minitwin and Supertwin ranks on his JHS Racing SFV650 Suzuki as the 20 year-old set a new class lap to put the cherry on top as Paul Wardell finished second on both occasions.

Supertwin pole setter Paul “Potchy” Williams put himself at a disadvantage after missing the warmup lap, but still forced his way through to third on the tail of Wardell after starting at the back of the grid.

EDP Open 500 runner Thomas Lawlor bagged his first win of the year on his GTL Life/Flynn Management RS250 Honda, beating out defending champion Dave Hampton on his TZ. Greg Maden took the points he needed to lift the class crown after scoring big at every round on his RRV450 Aprilia.

Jay Bellers-Smith showed more winning style aboard his Smith Bros 717 KTM in the new-for-2017 Neatafan Supermono series, with only the Gas Gas of Steven Colville to contend with at Thruxton.

Thomas Lawlor scored the Open 500 win, but Greg Maden lifted the championship silverware…

Fireblade pilots Lukasz Gaslawski and Phil Webber vied for the title of top dog in the Adam Jeffery Flooring Pre Injection 1300 ranks as half a wheel separated the two at the line, with Lukasz pipping Webber by a tight 0.060sec on his Mark Hale CBR.

Wayne Pither recovered after a tip-off in practice to take a close third ahead of Castle Combe Instructor Neil Sutton, who last raced at Thruxton over 16 years ago.

The 700cc Pre Injection race was billed as a battle between Liam Turberfield and Jon Wright, the latter hoping to defend his title as he led the points table even after a massive crash at Pembrey last month.

Turberfield did all he could with a maximum points hall for victory, but Wright did the math and knew 12th would be enough, eventually taking the flag in seventh and clinching the crown.

Metzeler DTR Streetstock 700 racer Tom Vear took his first win of the season on his R6 Yamaha, pushing the class’s main man this year, Simon Bastable, back to second. Bear, who had not been able to complete a full season, also set a new lap record on his way to victory.

Paul Jeffery did everything within his power to hang onto the 1300 Streetstock title he won last year by taking the race win on his Alex Buckingham backed R1 and 25 points, but he was shadowed all the way by title rival Ciaran Bligh.

Bligh knew he needed to keep Paul in sight and that is exactly what he did, finishing second just ahead of Chris Hoskin.

Remnant and Tilley took the F2 and overall wins at Thruxton…

NG organisers were on the verge of pulling outfits from the Thruxton programme with low numbers, but entries came in at the eleventh hour and the club kept the CSC Racing Sidecars on for the season finale.

Former British and European champs Roger Lovelock and Rick Lawrence were out looking for wins at their local round, but suffered mechanical DNFs in both outings.

Ralph Remnant and Samantha Tilley took victory over Dean Nicholls and Kenny Cole, while F2 champions Stephen Jackson and Rob Child came up just short of taking the Open title as the absent Peter O’Neill and Pat Galligan secured the trophy.

Poised for a National Superstock return in 2018, Josh Day took wins this weekend in both the Phoenix Open and L&J Fabrication Services & Saphire Group Powerbikes, setting new lap records in each as he headed home Stock 600 runner Brad Jones and former Hottrax champ Greg Allsop.

As outgoing champ in the 600 class, Day brought the “old-girl” out for a final run Into the Blue 600 series, but the standard R6 was no match for Luke Jones on the British Supersport-spec Appleyard Macadam R6.

The latter machine was put together at the last minute for Jones, who continues his recovery and return to competition after a seven month layoff due to injury.

Jones easily took the win over Day, Sam Thompson and 2017 champ Max Symonds, with Alex Baker and Aaron Ridewood completing the top six.

*Click here for the full results round up from NG Road Racing at Thruxton

*Images: EDP Photo News

You may also read!

Thompson seeking ride after WH Racing split

RISING roads star Joey Thompson is now on the hunt for a ride for the 2019 season after he


Howard ‘desperate’ to redeem Classic TT DNF

CLASSIC TT rider Steve Howard has admitted he's itching to get back to the Isle of Man this August


Bemsee opens Supersport class to 636

BOSSES at Bemsee have announced they will now be allowing a slightly-stockier Kawasaki into their middleweight ranks starting in


Mobile Sliding Menu