New BMCRC champions crowned

In Bemsee, News

WITH just one round left of the 2016 BMCRC season, a handful of championships have now been won.

A number of champions were crowned as the British Motorcycle Racing Club headed to Snetterton last weekend.

Grant Newstead (main image) took the Team Respro MRO 600 title after extending

Gary Smith is the new EDlasia F400 Champion...
Gary Smith is the new EDlasia F400 Champion…

his lead to 106 points, with just 100 still on the table

But the new champ didn’t have it easy. The first race was wet, and he found himself languishing down in ninth place.

However, title rival Dominic Pettit had an even worse time, finishing outside the points as David Tinkler emerged victorious.

Newstead’s second race ended off the podium too, but a second in the final race was enough to give him the points lead he needed to seal the championship.

Snetterton provided the final found for the EDlasia Formula 400s, and it was Gary Smith who clinched the title by eight points over Andy Gill.

Smith had led going into the final weekend, and when Gill failed to finish the first race, a third for Smith helped him extend his lead.

Pete Woodall was victorious in the Chilton Motors BMZRC 250 series...
Pete Woodall was victorious in the Chilton Motors BMZRC 250 series…

Another third in the second race was enough to give him the championship.

The Chilton Motors BMZRC 250 series was never supposed to race at Snetterton, but it was slotted in to replace the cancelled Silverstone meeting earlier in the year.

Pete Woodall reigned supreme as he took two wins, a second and a third to extend his lead to an unassailable 131 points over Chris Rogers.

And in the BMCRC Rookie 1000 Championship, Kyle O’Donovan scored two wins and a second place to take the title with a round to spare.

Images: John Manclark

You may also read!

Isle of Man TT axed for 2021

ISLE of Man TT chiefs have dropped the axe on next year's event just six months ahead of the


Lynn, Walker and Dawson lead three-pronged Ulster SBK assault

JASON Lynn, Glenn Walker and Cameron Dawson will lead the charge for JMcC Roofing Racing next season as they


Coward and PreZ Racing split

ISLE of Man TT ace Jamie Coward has announced a split from PreZ Racing as he begins the hunt


Mobile Sliding Menu