Melville MC: All the action from Round 1

In Melville, News
Image: Drew Glen

AFTER more than 18 months without track action, the Melville Motor Club finally returned to East Fortune for its opening round of the season.

And while day one of racing was written off in place of a test day, the pace was fierce as competitive Scottish Championship action got underway.

Fresh off a National Superstock wildcard at Knockhill, Callum Grigor set the pace in the Superbike class as he stormed to two wins ahead of Greg and Sean Gilfillan, but it wasn’t before Greg clocked a blistering 57.949 to set a new big bike lap record.

Over in the F600 class, it was also a sweep for Lewis Paterson who put on a dominant display to beat Kenneth Thirlwall and Logan Turner by no less than seven seconds each time out.

Turner was back out for the Scottish Lightweight opener, beating Daniel Good by more than two seconds, but with Turner out for race two it was Good pipping Grant Reid by half a second as Owen Paterson bagged another third.

Turner leads Good and Shanks in the Lightweight battle…

The lap record went twice in the CB500 class as Ross McCulloch nosed multiple champ Finn Chalk and Chris Grieve over the line with a 1:06.383 in race one, before McCulloch took another win in race two while Grieve powered over the line in second to obliterate the fresh record with his own 1:05.875.

Amid testing with their newly-acquired long bike, Lee Crawford and Scott Hardie destroyed the pack with victories by an average of almost 10sec, as Daryl Gibson and Tom Christie beat Lewis Nicol and Rhys Gibbons to second each time.

PI600 ace Harry Pullar snatched the opening win from Michael MacKinnon by less than 0.73sec, but he pulled out a gap of nearly nine seconds to cruise to the double as Callum Laidlaw and Johnny Stewart scrapped for third.

Garry Whitfield and Jake Harkness controlled the PI1200 and Sound of Thunder action, while Leon Murphy and Brandon Russell won the Classics and Junior twins, respectively.

Senior Post Classic Honours went to Adrian McCarthy ahead of Howard Selby and Gordon Grigor, as Liam Burns and Zoe Paterson split F125 honours.

Click here for results from Melville MC round one

You may also read!

RESULTS: NG Road Racing Round 6 – Sep 18-19, 2021

All the times and race results from NG Road Racing round six at Pembrey Circuit... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 -


RESULTS: No Limits Racing Round 7 – Sep 18-19, 2021

All the times and race results from No Limits Racing round seven at Cadwell Park... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 -


RESULTS: Thundersport GB Round 6 – Sep 18, 2021

All the times and race results from Thundersport GB round six at Oulton Park... [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - Thundersport


Mobile Sliding Menu