McGee leads Cookstown 100 entry list

In News, Roads

REIGNING triple Irish road race champion Derek McGee leads a stout final entry list as he returns to the KDM Hire Cookstown 100 this month.

The Lightweight TT runner-up and defending Duke Road Race Rankings champ is throwing in a bid for four classes, including the Open, Supersport, Supertwin and Moto3s, as he looks to bounce back from a winless 2018 Cookstown campaign.

But event bosses are anticipating a strong lineup of riders after circuit resurfacing from Craigmount to Braeside along with a new look starting area have been well-received.

2018 Man of the Meeting Adam McLean remains with the McAdoo Racing squad and with a season under his belt, coupled with sterling performances at the opening Ulster SBK meeting last week at Bishopscourt, he will be out to reclaim the title.

Last year’s Superbike race winner Derek Sheils is reunited with John Burrows in the new look RK Racing team and is set to contest both the Open and Supersport 600 races.

After finishing the 2018 season as Man of the Meeting at the East Coast festival, Michael Sweeney is eager to get onto the top step in the larger capacity classes. He will head in Supertwin, Open and Supersport 600 races on the Martin Jones Racing/Kiely Heating machines

Dafabet Racing’s Paul Jordan heads to Cookstown armed with his own 600 Yamaha for both the Supersport and Open classes, and will be looking to bag more than just the pole position he’s had at the circuit previously.

TV star, truck mechanic and road racer Guy Martin has submitted a provisional entry to race his home built 830 BSA, but will be cycling across a desert the week prior to the event, so his presence is anyone’s guess.

PDMCC champion Andy Jackson will compete in the 350 class aboard a stunning Falcon Road Race Team MV Agusta, following in the footsteps of Mike Hailwood who was the last man to race an MV at Cookstown in 1958, winning his first ever road race.

Last year’s Manx Grand Prix stars James Chawke, Mike Browne and Darryl Tweed are also set to race at the Orritor circuit, along with a host of newcomers including Tom Weeden, Nadieh Schoots and Adrian Harrison.

You may also read!

Sunday start among proposed Manx GP/Classic TT schedule changes

MANX Motor Cycle Club chiefs have revealed a number of proposed schedule changes for 2020 in a bid to


New proposed schedule for Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT

Check out the full proposed 2020 Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT schedule, with new changes to the practice


2019 UK Clubsport Rider of the Year: Luke Hopkins

WE may have revealed all of our reader voted winners for this year’s UK Clubsport awards, but now it’s


Mobile Sliding Menu