Manx GP/Classic TT: Harrison leads red-flagged CTT Superbikes as Parsons tops MGP times

In Classic, Manx Grand Prix, News, Roads

DEAN Harrison got straight back to business in this evening’s RST Superbike Classic practice as he topped the times while Stephen Parsons set the Manx GP Junior pace.

Silicone Engineering’s reigning Senior winner beat everyone on his standing start lap to lead the field by almost five seconds despite the competition’s flying laps, while Parsons was the best of the MGP runners before red flags waved for an incident at the Black Hut. Race control reported that the rider sustained leg injuries before being taken by airmed to Noble’s Hospital.

Harrison clocked a 123.42mph standing start lap straight out of the gates, beating number one starter Horst Saiger’s flying lap of 122.87 before the Silicone rider tucked into the pits to take the reigns of the Turner Racing 250.

Kraus/PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward ended the session third among the big classics as the last man in the 120s with a 120.70, while Team Classic Suzuki’s Phil Crowe and Wilcock Consulting’s Joey Thompson rounded out the top five with a 118.29 and 117.60, respectively.

In the Manx GP ranks, Chris Preston Honda’s local ace Nathan Harrison went straight to the top of the tables with a standing 115.82 to edge ahead of JFR Racing/Steadplan Primus’ Andy Farrell’s 115.48, but the flying laps told another story as Stephen Parsons hit the top.

The People’s Bike rider, who finished second in last year’s Senior MGP thriller, shot into the lead with a 118.94, beating Harrison’s flying 117.87 and Bass Tyre Services’ James Hind’s 116.91.

VRS Racing man Brad Vicars set a 116.84 to finish the session fourth quickest ahead of Andrew Fisher, who rounded out the top five with a 116.81.

Meanwhile in the Lightweight Classic class, event returnee Bruce Anstey powered the Milenco by Padgett’s RS250 to a 116.28 to stamp his authority on his comeback to action.

Superbike pace-setter Dean Harrison put the Turner Racing TZ second on the board with a 114.28 while Laylaw’s leading rider Ian Lougher went third fastest with a 112.59. Kaymac man Rhys Hardisty and John Chapman Racing ace Dan Sayle completed the top five.

*Click here for results from the Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT

*Image: Double Red

You may also read!

Wirral 100 cancels August round amid North West virus spike

CHIEFS at the Wirral 100 Motor Club have dropped the axe on their August meeting at Anglesey amid growing


SACU gets green light for Scottish bike racing return

SCOTTISH motorcycle racers have been given the green light to return to action from today after an easing of


RESULTS: No Limits Racing Round 1 – August 1-2, 2020

All the times and race results from No Limits Racing Round 1 at Snetterton... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - HM


Mobile Sliding Menu