Lydden Hill: The rest of the action from the Lord of Lydden

In News
Images: Dale Baldwin

SOLOS, sidecars, scooters and more flocked south last weekend as Lydden Hill’s annual Lord of Lydden and Sidecar Burn Up events rolled into town.

And with the likes of the BSSO, Desmo Due Ducatis, FAB Racing and classic outfits on hand to mix up the action, it was a bumper weekend at the famous rallycross circuit.

After beating fellow MiniGP runners Charlie Huntingford and Ronnie Harris to pole position, Filip Surowiak scorched to the opening race win, but it was Ethan Sparks who dominated the rest of the weekend with a hat-trick to take the Junior Lord of Lydden title

While Surowiak and Harris took second and third overall, it was a record-breaking weekend as the lap record went several times with Huntingford finally setting the 70cc class mark with a 46.845 at a speed of 76.85mph as Marco Holt set the MiniGP50 record with a 51.198 with the first 50cc lap in the 70mph average bracket.

Wilson dominated all four Desmo Due scraps

Scott Wilson lined up on pole position ahead of Andy Hind in the Desmo Due opener before romping to all four Ducati A class and outright wins over Paul Payne, with Hind third each time out, as Floyd Moody picked up all four B class wins.

Supertwin man Stephen Perfitt and Supermono ace Dan Ledger shared the outright Twins/Pre-’86 600 as they both swept their individual classes. Meanwhile, CRMC front-runner Derek Cripps and MZ man Scott Grant shared the Production 600cc honours further back in the field.

In the full-fledged MZ250 races, however, it was Alex Mann who swept the board with four wins from four as he pipped both Grant and fellow Bemsee ace Chris Kent to a clean sweep.

Further up in the same races, Sean Morrison doubled up in the 400cc class on Saturday on his Honda 250 before Kawasaki F400 man James Seath took both wins on Sunday just a few seconds clear of NG champ Tim Bradley, as Sam Digby-Baker and Richard Hayward shared thirds.

Seath (4) en route to a double in the F400 class

After Wayne Lockey and Ben Binns banked pole position for the F2 sidecar races, it was Greg Lambert and Jake Sayle who drew first blood after getting the better of Bruce and Ashley Moore late in the opening scrap to take the win.

But Lockey and Binns were back on form for the rest of the weekend, scoring the remaining three wins – two ahead of Lambert and the Moores, before Schofield and Colbrook bagged second in the final.

Over in the classic sidecar battles, however, it was Sean Hegarty and James Neave who dominated from start to finish, taking pole position by nearly two seconds on their BMW outfit and destroying the field by a combined margin of more than 90sec as Lambert and the Mann duo followed them across the line to lock out second and third each time.

Hegarty leading the way in the classics race

Taking on their final round of the season were scooter racers of the BSSO as titles were decided across the weekend.

David Bristow bagged three Stock wins over Justin Price and Zack Tingle, but it was Stuart Day who broke up his win streak as Price was crowned Group 4e champ. Tom Shaw and Mark Shirley scored the Group 4 and 10 title s respectively, while Graham Tatton’s four Production wins over Alex Van Dyke and Stephen Hamilton gifted him the LCGB Production class crown.

On the Super Scooter grid, Price and John Chitoglou shared the overall honours in Group 6 as Price did enough to pick up another championship, while Hamilton’s Group 6a sweep allowed him to clinch the class trophy. And with his third title of the season, Price picked up the ACU Super Scooter accolade as Tatton bagged the Stock title.

Click here for results from the 2021 Lord of Lydden

You may also read!

Lydden Hill: Ward reclaims Lord of Lydden title

LOCAL man Tom Ward dominated at his home circuit this weekend as he reclaimed the Lord of Lydden title. The

Images: Suzuki

EMRA: Rea wins Race of the Year

GINO Rea etched his name into the coveted Race of the Year trophy this weekend with a winning performance


RESULTS: Lord of Lydden – October 23-24, 2021

All the times and race results from the 2021 Lord of Lydden Hill and Sidecar Burn Up... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race


Mobile Sliding Menu