Lord of Lydden: All the action from Lydden Hill

In Lydden Hill, News

RACERS flocked south last weekend as the annual Lord of Lydden and Sidecar Burn Up scraps hit Kent’s Lydden Hill.

With reigning Lord winner Tom Ward out of action, Luke Dixon and Paul Berwick split the heat wins on Saturday with Mario Campion bringing up the rear in third each time.

But in Open Group Two, it was Bemsee front-runner Dawid Krawiecki who doubled up by no less than six seconds each time as Jason Siggs and James Vincer, while just behind the battle for Twins honours raged as Supermono man Andrew Widdowson beat Dan Ledger as Tony Parker took a distant third behind the leading Yamaha-class runner Derek Cripps.

Krawiecki and Mitchell Gilbert bagged another win each in Sunday’s heat races, but no one could stop Krawiecki from completing a day two hat-trick as he picked up another Open victory along with the Lord of Lydden title, less than half a second clear of Dixon.

In the premier outfit battle, Tim Reeves and Kevin Rousseau looked to be on for a day of domination after cruising to two wins over Andy Peach and Ken Edwards with Founds and Lowther splitting thirds with Harry Payne and 2019 World Championship passenger Mark Wilkes.

But Payne and Wilkes were in no mood to hang about on Sunday and after watching the world series contenders take another two wins, Payne hit the Burn Up race with a vengeance as he snatched the lead from Reeves and Rousseau on the very first lap before he and Wilkes stretched a nearly two-second advantage.

Three laps from the finish, however, Reeves had reeled Payne back in and stuck a pass on the adoptive Manxman to hit the lead once again, crossing the line with just 0.789sec to spare as MacLaurin and Hope bagged third.

Back in Solo land, James Seath and Tim Bradley split the Formula 400 spoils while Yamaha Past Masters runners Doug Edmondson and Jamie Kelman also stole wins of their own in tight battles of 250s vs 400s while Chris Kent was the man to beat in the MZ250 ranks.

Neil Gregory was the Ducati in charge of the Desmo Due class as the 800cc-mounted rider crossed the line comfortably clear of a tussle between Dan James, Scott Wilson and Duncan Baillie.

While Sean Hegarty and James Neave were unstoppable in their Classic Sidecar charge on Saturday, it was Gagg and Hase in charge on Sunday after Hegarty and Neave suffered a DNF as Gray/Pitt, Whitaker/Wilkins and Mann/Wade all bagged podium finishes.

The BSSO classes looked to be all up to John Chitoglou after the Vespa rider came out swinging on the opening day of action, but Stephen Wright and Stuart Day stuck their hands in on day two as they were among the outright and class leaders. But Alex Vandyke, Chris Geyton, Jeremy Steel, Danny Loder and Stephen Hamilton were also among the winning scooter pilots at the club’s curtain call for 2020.

*Click here for results from the 2020 Lord of Lydden and Sidecar Burn Up

You may also read!

Isle of Man TT axed for 2021

ISLE of Man TT chiefs have dropped the axe on next year's event just six months ahead of the


Lynn, Walker and Dawson lead three-pronged Ulster SBK assault

JASON Lynn, Glenn Walker and Cameron Dawson will lead the charge for JMcC Roofing Racing next season as they


Coward and PreZ Racing split

ISLE of Man TT ace Jamie Coward has announced a split from PreZ Racing as he begins the hunt


Mobile Sliding Menu