KMR set for four-pronged Lightweight TT assault

In IOMTT, News, Roads

RYAN Farquhar has laid his cards on the table for this year’s Isle of Man TT campaign as he reveals a four rider lineup in a bid for Lightweight success.

The KMR Kawasaki team boss will field Derek McGee, Michael Rutter, Gary Johnson and Lee Johnston as he eyes the top step of the podium in the hotly-contested Supertwin race.

Irishman McGee, who finished just behind last year’s 650 race winner, Paton-powered Michael Dunlop, returns to the squad as he aims to be the quickest around the Mountain after his best TT finish ever in 2018.

Former Lightweight winner Rutter, however, will be eyeing a repeat of his 2017 performance, when he took a win over Martin Jessopp and Peter Hickman before bagging a rostrum spot last year behind McGee.

Double Supersport TT winner Johnson returns to the Supertwin class, where he last scored a fourth on the Chinese WK650 bike, while Johnston looks to break his bad luck spell after two DNFs in the races in 2015 and 2017.

But head honcho Farquhar insists the lineup his KMR squad boasts this year should put him in the best possible position to take the big Lightweight prize.

“The TT remains the biggest test for any team in road racing and the Lightweight class is getting tougher and tougher with a number of new brands and teams coming into it in recent years,” he said.

“The line up we have with the four riders gives us a great chance of victory, and all four of them have the ability to win the race. We’ll be giving all four of them everything we have to give them the best possible chance.”


You may also read!

Southern 100 chiefs allay international rider concerns

BOSSES at the Southern 100 Club have moved to quell concerns that some riders may not yet be able to


North West 200 reveals third Superbike race

SUPERBIKE fans at the North West 200 can look forward to a bit of history as Superbikes are set


CB500s and PI 750s to race at Aberdare Park

A HOST of new machinery could be lining up on the grid at Aberdare Park this year as chiefs


Mobile Sliding Menu