Kells Road Races: Sheils scores Superbike double and Man of the Meeting award

In News, Roads

Derek Sheils put on a dominant show at the Kells Road races as he made a Superbike clean sweep around the County Meath Circuit.

Sheils leading Sweeney in the Open scrap…

In his first outing he led on from the off, while Skerries man Michael Sweeney put in a good effort but wasn’t up the challenge and Sheils stretched his lead taking the chequered flag just shy of six and a half seconds ahead of Sweeney.

Thomas Maxwell was a further seven seconds down the road taking third place after a race long battle with Paul Jordan, who was on his Yamaha R6 only 0.1sec in arrears.

In the grand final Sheils streaked to the front and once again was never challenged when his closest rival in dropped out on lap two, making his winning margin this time almost 15 seconds. And with two wins under his belt, Sheils was also named as Man of the Meeting.

Jordan dominated the Supersport races and bagged an open podium on his R6 to boot…

As in the first race, Jordan and Maxwell had a race long battle with Jordan coming out on top as the demise of Sweeney promoted him to second place with Maxwell taking the final step on the podium.

In the Supersport race, Sheils and Jordan battled for the lead until on lap two when Sheils had to retire with a mechanical issue. Jordan won the race4.7sec in front of Sweeney as Darryl Tweed bagged third.

Gary Dunlop won the MOTO 3/125 race on the Joeys Bar Honda, beating Kevin Fitzpatrick by one and a half seconds with Melissa Kennedy just under a second behind in third.

Moto3 race winner Dunlop on the stunning Joey’s Bar 125…

The Supertwin race was a close fight between Andy Farrell and Kevin Baker, who both took their turn at the front, but it was Farrell who finally snatched the win less than a second ahead of Baker and third-placed Vinny Brennan, who was a further six seconds off the pace.

The Senior Support race, which was named in memory of Alan Bonner, who died in a crash on the Isle Of Man TT in 2017, was won by Andy McAllister while Eoin O’Siochru scooped Junior Supersport victory.

Ed Manly won the 250-350cc Classic and Richard Ford was winner in the 500-1000cc race.

*Images: Derek Wilson

You may also read!

No racing in Northern Ireland until June, says MCUI

NORTHERN Ireland's governing body for bike racing has made the call to suspend all action until at least June


2021 North West 200 scrapped

THE 2021 fonaCAB Nicholl Oils North West 200 has been cancelled amid fears of continuing government restrictions. Amid speculation about


NZ Superbikes: Timaru clean sweep as Damon Rees takes points lead

DAMON Rees controlled the action as the New Zealand Superbike series rolled into Levels International Raceway at Timaru last


Mobile Sliding Menu