Isle of Man TT: Records fly as Dunlop takes first Lightweight win

In IOMTT, News, Results
Michael Dunlop Paton Lightweight TT IOMTT 2018 by Double Red

MICHAEL Dunlop tore up the history books this afternoon as he took his first Bennetts Lightweight TT race win, demolishing yet another lap record.

The Paton rider, who set the unofficial record in his first outing on the S1R last Saturday in practice, clocked a 122.750mph lap as he destroyed James Hillier’s mark from 2015.

But as the 650cc machines hit Glen Helen for the first time, it was IEG/KMR Kawasaki’s Derek McGee who led Lintin by a mere 0.048s, while Dunlop trailed in third a further 1.6s adrift.

Dunlop was nearly untouchable on the MD Racing/SC Project Paton machine...
Dunlop was nearly untouchable on the MD Racing/SC Project Paton machine…

As the pack headed up the Mountain climb at Ramsey Hairpin, however, Lintin had moved into the lead while Dunlop relegated Irishman McGee to third, slotting into second just under three seconds adrift of Lintin.

The Lincolnshireman extended his gap over the Mountain section as he broke the lap record, setting a 121.603 as McGee and Dunlop also dipped under the old lap record with a 120.984 and 120.868, respectively.

Lintin held his advantage nearly all the way around the course, but the Dafabet Devitt Racing rider’s hopes of a third Lightweight win were dashed when he retired at Bedstead, leaving Dunlop to the lead with his first of two laps in the 122mph bracket.

McGee was back out front at Glen Helen on lap three, leading Dunlop by over three seconds, but by the time they hit Ramsey, the Northern Irishman had clawed seconds back and was ahead by 1.269s.

Dunlop then checked out and was never caught as he cruised home with his first Supertwin win on the Mountain Course, setting the record with a 122.750.

Irishman McGee was forced to settle for second as last year’s winner, Michael Rutter, put his Paton back on the podium in third. Fellow Paton men Stefano Bonetti and Joey Thompson rounded out the top five.

Meanwhile, Maria Costello MBE and Dave Moffitt were slapped with 10s penalties for their teams’ use of mobile phones in pit lane.

Retirements included David Johnson, Danny Webb, Lee Hembury, James Cowton, Craig Neve, Jonathan Perry and Michael Evans.

Provisional Bennetts Lightweight TT Race results

  1. Michael Dunlop
  2. Derek McGee
  3. Michael Rutter
  4. Stefano Bonetti
  5. Joey Thompson

*Click here for full qualifying times and race results from the Isle of Man TT

*Main image: Double Red

*Side image: Paul Soulby

You may also read!

RESULTS: Anglesey Plop Enduro – September 15, 2019

Times and race results from today's Plop Enduro seven-hour endurance race at Anglesey Circuit... *Image: Plop Enduro 1 22 C9 BRITISH


PDMCC race dates for 2020 revealed

BOSSES at the Preston and District Motorcycle Club have pulled the wraps off their 2020 calendar with just a


Remaining 2019 Jurby rounds axed with lack of entries

ANDREAS Racing Association chiefs have been forced to cancel the rest of their planned races this season after coming


Mobile Sliding Menu