Isle of Man TT: Hickman dominates Superstock as David Johnson scores first podium

In IOMTT, News, Roads

SMITH’S Racing BMW man Peter Hickman grabbed another Isle of Man TT victory as he dominated the RL360 Superstock race for his third win of the week.

With a huge 26 seconds to spare at the chequered flag, he doubled up on the day and stamped his authority on this year’s event, while Honda Racing’s David Johnson scored his very first podium finish in third behind Dean Harrison.

It was the usual state of affairs as Hickman clocked the quickest sector to Glen Helen before blasting to Ballaugh with the fastest time again as he led Silicone Kawasaki’s Harrison by two seconds, with MD Racing’s Michael Dunlop just a few seconds adrift in third.

Hickman looked unstoppable as he pulled out another two seconds at Ramsey and by the time he got back to the grandstand for the compulsory first-lap pit stop, he had clocked a 132.02 to lead Harrison by over nine seconds.

But Harrison’s race wasn’t over and the Yorkshireman pulled back nearly three seconds in the pits. The race for the podium was over for Quattro Plant Kawasaki’s James Hillier, however, lost out after being slapped with a 30sec speeding penalty.

While the top two were running alone with less than half a lap to go, the battle was on for the final rostrum spot as Dunlop edged Aussie Johnson by just half a second at Ramsey.

But it was bad news for Dunlop as he lost out heading down the mountain and crossed the line just 0.2sec shy of a podium as Johnson scored his maiden TT rostrum finish.

Retirements included Jim Hodson, Raul Torras Martinez, Phil Crowe and Dean Osborne. Honda Racing’s Ian Hutchinson opted to sit out the Superstock race. Pit lane speeding penalties were also handed out to Dominic Herbertson, Marc Ironside, Julian Trummer and Barry Furber.

RL360 Superstock race provisional results:

  1. Peter Hickman
  2. Dean Harrison
  3. David Johnson
  4. Michael Dunlop
  5. Conor Cummins

*Click here for results from the 2019 Isle of Man TT

*Image: Double Red

You may also read!

No Limits Racing: The rest of the action from Cadwell

REIGNING champs, lady racers and new series leaders rolled into Cadwell Park this weekend for No Limits Racing's penultimate


Darley Moor: Daley, Bradbury, Walters and Hanks-Elliott among opening round winners

DARLEY Moor burst back into life this past weekend as the club's riders hit the Tarmac for the opening


No Limits Racing: Crowe and Elliott share Super Series wins at Cadwell

PHIL Crowe and Brayden Elliott took home the spoils in the Pirelli Super Series 1000 class as No Limits


Mobile Sliding Menu