Hickman leads Macau GP entries

In Macau, News

MACAU Grand Prix bosses have released this year’s entry lists with no fewer than 14 Brits set to do battle in the Far East next month.

Defending winner Peter Hickman heads back to the Guia Circuit armed with an MGM by Bathams BMW and looks set to lead the charge, but he could once again come under threat from team-mate Michael Rutter, who once again goes equipped with the prototype-inspired Honda RC213V.

With last year’s final podium finisher Martin Jessopp out of action after calling time on most of his road racing exploits, it could be another PBM Ducati hunting a podium finish as John McGuinness joins forces with Aussie Davo Johnson in a two-pronged V4 assault.

Former winner Ian Hutchinson will also be eyeing a strong showing to put a difficult 2019 in the books as he takes the reigns of a Team Milwaukee by SMT BMW, while a double bill of Ashcourt Racing hits Macau as squad regular Lee Johnston welcomes Gary Johnson into the team, the latter of whom bagged yet another top five last year.

Penz13 rider Davey Todd will be eyeing a further move into the top 10 after finishing ninth last season, while PRL’s Sam West will equally be looking to build on his 12th from 2018.

Dafabet Devitt’s duo of Paul Jordan and Dom Herbertson, 14th and 20th last year, return to the team for the season-ending scrap while Phil Crowe targets a top finish after an extensive testing programme on the 2019 Handtrans/Lee Jackson AC S1000RR.

Callmac Scaffolding man Craig Neve will be hoping to round out his injury-hit year in style while road racing veteran Davy Morgan and JGH Racing’s Rob Hodson complete the British contingent.

Ireland’s five include On-1’s Brian McCormack, Burrows/RK Racing man Derek Sheils, Martin Jones Racing’s Michael Sweeney and Reactive Parts rider Steve Heneghan.

2019 Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix entry list:

2 Craig Andrew NEVE GBR Callmac Scaffolding Racing BMW S1000RR

3 David Stanley MORGAN GBR DM71 BMW S1000RR

4 John MCGUINNESS GBR PBM Ducati Ducati V4 Panigale

7 Gary Trevor JOHNSON GBR Ashcourt Racing BMW HP4 Carbon

8 Michael Karl RUTTER GBR MGM by Bathams Honda RC213V

9 Ian HUTCHINSON GBR Team Milwaukee with SMT BMW S1000RR

11 Dominic HERBERTSON GBR Dafabet Devitt Racing KAWASAKI ZX10-RR

13 Lee Glen JOHNSTON GBR Ashcourt Racing BMW S1000RR

14 Andre Samuel SILVA PIRES PRT Beauty Machines Racing Team YAMAHA R1

17 Robert Daniel KRUGER CAN MGM by Penz13 BMW S1000RR

20 David Ian JOHNSON AUS PBM Ducati Ducati V4 Panigale

22 Paul Alan JORDAN GBR Dafabet Devitt Racing KAWASAKI ZX10-RR

26 Didier GRAMS DEU G&G Motorsport BMW  S1000RR

38 Erno Juhani KOSTAMO FIN MGM by Penz13 BMW S1000RR

40 Horst SAIGER AUT Saiger Racing YAMAHA R1

44 Robert Thomas HODSON GBR JGH Racing BMW S1000RR

45 Marek CERVENY CZE Wepol Racing BMW S1000RR


54  Steve HENEGHAN IRL Reactive Parts Ducati V4S

62  Samuel Edward WEST GBR PRL BMW S1000RR

65 Michael Matthew SWEENEY IRL Martin Jones Racing BMW S1000RR

71  Phillip Edward CROWE GBR Handtrans – Lee Jackson- AC BMW S1000RR

74  Davey John TODD GBR MGM by Penz13 Penz BMW S1000RR

82  Derek SHEILS IRL Burrows Engineering / RK Racing Suzuki GSXR

88  Peter John HICKMAN GBR MGM by Bathams BMW S1000RR

111 Brian John MCCORMACK IRL ON-1 Racing BMW S1000RR

182 Xavier Bernard Alexis DENIS FRA Optimark by performanX Honda CBR 1000 RR

*Image: Macau GP

You may also read!

Wirral 100 cancels August round amid North West virus spike

CHIEFS at the Wirral 100 Motor Club have dropped the axe on their August meeting at Anglesey amid growing


SACU gets green light for Scottish bike racing return

SCOTTISH motorcycle racers have been given the green light to return to action from today after an easing of


RESULTS: No Limits Racing Round 1 – August 1-2, 2020

All the times and race results from No Limits Racing Round 1 at Snetterton... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - HM


Mobile Sliding Menu