Hickling hoists the hardware in Properly Protected MRO Minitwins championship

In Bemsee, News

ENTERING the final round with a 65-point championship lead meant Richard Hickling had to do very little to secure the 2016 MRO Minitwin championship title, and the champion-elect had the job sealed by sunset Saturday.

Glynn Davies took the win in the weekend’s opening race, ahead of Paul Witherington and Ben Clark.

Fifth place in race one was enough to extend Hickling’s lead to 67 points over championship chaser Kurtis Butler, who finished two points behind in seventh, with 75 points left on offer.

Despite Butler clawing back seven points in race two, Hickling’s 60-point lead was enough to end the title pursuit without having to turn a wheel in the remaining two races.

Meanwhile, Davies added a second win to his victory in race one, crossing the line ahead of Butler, with Witherington in third.

The MRO Minitwin series is renowned for its close racing throughout the field, but it saved its narrowest winning margin of the season for the final day’s racing, as Butler swapped positions with double-winner Davies to take victory by a scant one thousandth of a second.

Former champion Grant Robertson rounded out the race three rostrum just over three seconds adrift.

Davies was back to winning ways in the last race of the season, completing the weekend hat-trick ahead of Jack Wallis and Witherington.

Daniel Singleton, who crashed out of the lead in the opening BMCRC Rookie Minitwin race, felt little consequence as he had wrapped up the championship a round earlier at Snetterton.

With the off, the gold was left to Richard Tyrer, but Singleton returned to form to win races two and three, before finishing second in the final race to James Larter.


*Image by John Manclark/Karen Burrows

You may also read!

Isle of Man TT axed for 2021

ISLE of Man TT chiefs have dropped the axe on next year's event just six months ahead of the


Lynn, Walker and Dawson lead three-pronged Ulster SBK assault

JASON Lynn, Glenn Walker and Cameron Dawson will lead the charge for JMcC Roofing Racing next season as they


Coward and PreZ Racing split

ISLE of Man TT ace Jamie Coward has announced a split from PreZ Racing as he begins the hunt


Mobile Sliding Menu