EMRA: The rest of the action from the Race of the Year

In EMRA, News

BRITISH Superbike stars and budding club champions descended on Mallory Park this Sunday as EMRA’s final 2018 titles were awarded.

And while two riders from the Buildbase Mallory Trophy class still had a crown to fight for, there were plenty of other contenders for the race wins, including Race of the Year winner Richard Cooper.

Just hours after getting the boat back from Bishopscourt, where he bagged victory in his first ever go at the Sunflower Trophy Races, the Suzuki rider was back and prepping for his attempt at the ROTY as he lined up for the first Builbase scrap.

Bird (pictured) and Kurtis Butler split the Marine Fabrication Open 600 spoils among all the other action...
Bird (pictured) and Kurtis Butler split the Marine Fabrication Open 600 spoils among all the other action…

All of his fellow Race of the Year entrants joined him on the grid in the opening Trophy race, but it was Billy McConnell who gave Cooper his nearest challenge.

The Superbike star led the opening laps before the Aussie took over and while Cooper got back ahead at half distance, he could never shake the challenge as he finished just 0.18s ahead, with team-mate Brad Ray taking third from the back of the grid.

In the second Buildbase Mallory Trophy race, fresh OMG Racing Suzuki recruit Luke Mossey took his first win for the squad ahead of Leon Jeacock, who had been having a crack at a Buildbase GSXR1000, with George Stanley in third place.

Paul Westerdale finished sixth, two places behind his title rival Curtis Wright, but that was sufficient to take the championship to add to the Allcomers title that he had won last month.

In the two Open 600 races, Kurtis Butler scrapped with Jed Bird throughout as Butler won the first before Bird took the second by a tenth of a second after snatching the lead on the last lap.

The Lightweight races were dominated by Asher Durham on his Moto3 machine, while Jodie Fieldhouse finished runner-up second both times. It was a repeat one-two in the open 450 class, but further down the order Clive Somerfield grabbed the 50cc honours.

*Click here for results from the Race of the Year at Mallory Park

*Main image: Westerdale Racing

You may also read!

RESULTS: Anglesey Plop Enduro – September 15, 2019

Times and race results from today's Plop Enduro seven-hour endurance race at Anglesey Circuit... *Image: Plop Enduro 1 22 C9 BRITISH


PDMCC race dates for 2020 revealed

BOSSES at the Preston and District Motorcycle Club have pulled the wraps off their 2020 calendar with just a


Remaining 2019 Jurby rounds axed with lack of entries

ANDREAS Racing Association chiefs have been forced to cancel the rest of their planned races this season after coming


Mobile Sliding Menu