EMRA: The rest of the action from Round 1

In EMRA, News

MALLORY Park burst back into life as EMRA club riders stormed the gates for a double-header and a busy weekend of nearly 50 races.

British Talent Cup competitor Abbz Thomas was the best of the 125, Lightweight and 450 riders with a clean sweep on her NSF250 Honda, leading comfortably as Will Loder took three Lightweight wins to Tony Brabazon’s one while Emma Franklin was runner-up behind Thomas in the GP category.

Moreton swept the Earlystocks class on his Lucky Strike Suzuki…

Alan Moreton pipped John Chambers to the opening Earlystocks win on a grid of more than 20 machines, but Chambers got one over on him in race two before Moreton completed a hat-trick with a Sunday sweep, as Alan Hoyland and Martin Ingham shared thirds.

In the Open 600 class, Arnie Shelton had it all his own way with a dominant four wins over Taylor Moreton as Richard Wardle rounded out the podium.

Reigning champ Steve Brittain nearly did the same in the Pre Injection races after beating Adam Waters and Michael Hand by almost 10 seconds, but Hand pipped Waters to the line in race two as Brittain dropped out of contention on the last lap. But it was three from four for Brittain after Sunday’s double, leaving Tom Pickford to two seconds ahead of Waters and Hand.

Darren Corkett stole the opening Minitwin honours with a 1.5sec win over Jonathan Wells, but Wells emerged victorious in race two after a four-bike battle including Corkett, Richard Saunders and John Bolsover before doubling up on Sunday with two more to his name over Corkett and Bolsover.

Radford en route to the victory in the busy CB500 class…

The busy 500 and Open 500 grids looked to be under the control of Martin Radford after he snatched the opening two wins from Craig Reilly and Darran Faulkner, but it was Richard Blunt who ended Saturday with victory. Faulkner drew first blood on day two as he scored Open victory, but it was a Blunt finish to the day as the points front-runner completed a run of four wins from seven ahead of Radford and CB500 rookie Phil Atkinson.

Thomas Goldthorpe emerged the top Rookie of the weekend with three wins from four, narrowly beating Danny Simpson with just 0.172sec separating the newcomers. But Gary Ford kept Goldthorpe from a clean sweep with 25 points of his own, while Simpson and Alex Pearson were among the podium finishers.

*Click here for results from EMRA Round 1

*Images: Kev Gunstone, Steve Snelling

You may also read!

McGlinchey and Corderoy lead Gearlink Kawawaski BSS lineup

EUNAN McGlinchey and Zak Corderoy will spearhead Gearlink Kawasaki's 2022 charge as they continue to chase the Quattro British


Browne to spearhead Irish roads assault with Burrows Engineering/RK Racing

MIKE Browne has inked a deal to remain with Burrows Engineering/RK Racing for 2022 as he plans a full-scale


Harran joins Optimum Bikes for Superstock campaign

BRENT Harran is set to return to the Pirelli National Superstock ranks next season as he joins Optimum Bikes


Mobile Sliding Menu