EMRA: Stapleford, Crowe and Dawson share big bike spoils

In EMRA, News

LOUIS Dawson stretched his Buildbase Mallory Trophy points lead after sharing wins with Phil Crowe and Luke Stapleford this weekend.

While Dawson was back for another round of EMRA club action, roads ace Crowe was out in anger for the first time since the TT as Stapleford was bagging a bit of extra track time ahead of the British Superbike round at Snetterton later this month.

Dawson stretched his points lead in the Buildbase series after winning the final race...
Dawson stretched his points lead in the Buildbase series after winning the final race…

Four, three, two, one was  the Aprilia rider’s countdown to success – fourth in his first race, third in the second, second in the third and victory in the fourth and final race.

But it was Stapleford who dominated the opening Tamworth Yamaha Allcomers race, finishing fifteen seconds ahead of former champ Lee Wilson, who just held off the constant challenge of Crowe, while Dawson gradually dropped back in fourth place.

In the first Mallory Trophy race, Stapleford was even more dominant, beating Crowe by 22sec and setting a club lap record at 50.299 seconds – 99.48mph. Dawson was a close third with Wilson fourth.

The Richard Jones Trophy – fought for in the second Allcomers – was a wheel-to-wheel battle for the first six laps with Dawson just ahead of Crowe and Wilson, but once Crowe got ahead he was able to pull out a lead, finishing three seconds ahead of Dawson with Wilson in third.

And after three races in waiting, Dawson finally grabbed a win in the second Buildbase rac, leading from the start and gradually pulling away from Wilson with Dean Brown coming through to third.

While Dawson has pulled almost 30 points clear of Wilson in the Buildbaase championship chase, he has narrowed Ryan Oliver’s Allcomers advantage to just five points heading to round five.

*Click here for results from EMRA Round 4

*Main image: Sid Diggins

*Side image: Robin Capon

You may also read!

Hopkins took 25 points on Saturday before focussing on his 600 on Sunday...

Vote for UK Clubsport’s 1000cc Rider of the Year

THEY are the heavy-hitters, the quickest of the quick in club racing and now we want you to cast


Vote for UK Clubsport’s National Breakthrough Rider of the Year

EVERY year, a handful of club racers head up the road to the BSB paddock to see how they


Vote for UK Clubsport’s Roads Crossover Rider of the Year

IT'S time to break cover with our newest award and talk roads as we open up voting for the


Mobile Sliding Menu