EMRA: Round Two round up

In EMRA, News

BRITISH Superbike stars and Isle of Man TT racers studded the grids at Mallory Park as EMRA racers lined up for their second round of the season.

Former British Supersport champ Billy McConnell and former National Superstock 1000 champ Richard Cooper were two of the BSB-paddock troublemakers out for a play at their team’s home track.

And to no one’s surprise, the pair snagged a one-two in qualifying as Cooper took pole for the Tamworth Yamaha Allcomers scraps, with John Ingram and Phil Crowe lining up third and fourth less than 0.9s off the pace.

National Superstock 1000 ace Billy McConnell turned up to get some extra laps in ahead of Brands Indy this coming weekend...
National Superstock 1000 ace Billy McConnell turned up to get some extra laps in ahead of Brands Indy this coming weekend…

Although Cooper led the first Allcomers race on an increasingly damp track, McConnell took the lead after just three laps and stretched a nearly two-second advantage to take the win over his Suzuki team-mate while roads regular Sam West completed the podium.

But with the top two three all out of action for the second race, victory looked to be going the way of Paul Westerdale before George Stanley snatched the lead away and took the win by just over half a second as last year’s Supersport-class runner-up Jed Bird nabbed third.

Cooper, McConnell, Ingram and Crowe were due out again for the Buildbase Mallory Superbike Trophy battles, but Westerdale took advantage of the missing danger men and cruised to a double victory as Stanley and Rayner Clarke took a second and a third each.

Andrew Wilkinson says 'bring on the rain' after snatching a wet weather win...
Andrew Wilkinson says ‘bring on the rain’ after snatching a wet weather win…

Bird was back out in the Marine Fabrications Open 401cc-600cc class where he started from pole, but Steve Brittain took the early lead in race one as a three-way battle for victory ensued.

MV Agusta rider Louis Dawson made a pass to hit the front on lap three before Bird sliced through, but the latter wasn’t able to hang on as Dawson took the lead again and powered to the win, with Westerdale crossing the line third.

In race two, where riders also fought for the Alan Tolton Trophy, Bird looked to finally have the win in his hands. But Andrew Wilkinson levered him aside half-way through the 10-lap race and held on to take the win by just 0.297s as Westerdale was once again third home.

Lady racer Jodie Fieldhouse cruised to victory in the first combined Bill Fry & EMRA Formula 125, GP125 and KTM race as she crossed the line on her NSF250 Honda over nine seconds clear of TZ250 rider Sam Rhodes and KTM 390 jockey Mitchell Seale.

But British Motostar runners Asher Durham and Brandon Paasch stretched an insurmountable advantage in race two, Durham taking the win two seconds ahead of Paasch as John Lea was the next rider home almost 15 seconds further adrift.

Last year’s Modified Class 3 runner-up Stuart Boatwright was almost runner-up again in the first Earlystocks race, but he managed to beat Michael Hand to the line by a slim 0.062s to take the win on his FZ750, while John Chambers notched up third 10 seconds back.

Last year's Monoshock Class I champ Stu Poulton on his way to an Earlystocks vctory...
Last year’s Monoshock Class I champ Stu Poulton on his way to an Earlystocks vctory…

But reigning Monoshock Class 1 champ Stu Poulton was on a charge on his Yamaha 350 in race two, overtaking Hand early and stretching a gap of over 15 seconds at the chequered flag as Hand and Boatwright could do nothing but settle into second and third.

Lumley Ireson 600 men Andy King and Alun Thomas led all but one lap of the Sidecar Open – WAS Auto Centre Trophy battles on their way to two wins over the Shelbourne Honda 600 John and James Saunders, while Doug and John Chandler split thirds with Nicholls and Child.

Mikey Leeson took his second Ducati Coventry JHP Rookies Championship victory of the year in the first newcomer battle with a 10-second win over Clarke and Nic Sweet.

But as with Round One, Leeson wasn’t able to do the double and he was forced to take third just behind Luke Penny as Clarke took the win in race two.

*Click here for full results from EMRA Round Two

*Main and action images: Chris Gration

*Trophy image: Andrew Wilkinson

You may also read!

NG Road Racing: Day dominates big bikes at Brands

JOSH Day picked up exactly where he left off last season with a nearly perfect weekend of big bike


RESULTS: NG Road Racing Round 1 – March 16-17, 2019

Full times and race results from NG Road Racing Round at Brands Hatch Indy... *Image: Dale Baldwin SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="TQ 1


RESULTS: British Mini Bikes Round 1 – March 17, 2019

All the times and race results from British Mini Bikes Round 1 at Clay Pigeon Raceway... [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1


Mobile Sliding Menu