EMRA: Dawson scores big bike hat-trick

In EMRA, News

LOUIS Dawson starred in the East Midland Racing Association championship’s third round this Sunday with three wins from four in the club’s big bike ranks.

The Aprilia rider beat Michael Austin, Lee Wilson and Barry Burrell to a hat-trick while National Superstock regular George Stanley picked up one to stop his quest for a clean sweep.

In the opening Buildbase Mallory Trophy race, Dawson and Wilson settled into a close battle with the Aprilia staying just ahead of Wilson’s BMW until the penultimate lap when Dawson was able to get past a back marker just a touch quicker, opening the gap from 0.1sec to a second and a half.

Burrell nearly had the better of Dawson, but missed out on Allcomer honours by just over a tenth of a second…

Behind the two front-runners, former BSB rider Burrell gradually overhauled Stanley to grab third place.

The second Trophy race was a three-way scrap with Stanley holding off Dawson and Burrell for the first half of the race before Dawson took over for a couple of laps until Stanley clocked the fastest lap of the day at 52.5sec to regain the lead on lap nine and stretch a gap of over 2.5sec at the flag, leaving Burrell to third some two seconds adrift.

Austin took an early lead in the first Tamworth Yamaha Allcomers race, but once Dawson and Burrell had got ahead they duked it out all the way to the flag. And as the chequered flag flew, Dawson squeezed another victory over the Suzuki rider by just 0.134sec.

Dawson gradually edged away from the battle between Austin and Mikey Leeson in the opening laps of the second Allcomers race to finish 4.491sec clear of the fight for runner-up honours, while Austin came up the better of the two chasers.

*Click here for results from EMRA Round 3

*Images: Kevin Gunstone

You may also read!

RESULTS: Darley Moor Round 6 – September 15, 2019

All the times and race results from Darley Moor Round 6 including the Graham Bywater Trophy and the ACU


RESULTS: Anglesey Plop Enduro – September 15, 2019

Times and race results from today's Plop Enduro seven-hour endurance race at Anglesey Circuit... *Image: Plop Enduro 1 22 C9 BRITISH


PDMCC race dates for 2020 revealed

BOSSES at the Preston and District Motorcycle Club have pulled the wraps off their 2020 calendar with just a


Mobile Sliding Menu