Darley Moor: Jeacock beats McGuinness and Ryde to Stars at Darley crown

In Darley Moor, News
Images: Tony Else

LEON Jeacock was crowned the new Stars at Darley winner after rocketing to victory in Sunday’s feature race of the season at Darley Moor.

As part of the season finale, the National Superstock regular got the better of both TT legend John McGuinness and BSB race winner Kyle Ryde to etch his name into the club’s top trophy.

Two years on since the last Stars meeting, Darley officials welcomed the biggest crowd for years at their last round of 2021 and with a full programme of action, the on-track battles didn’t disappoint.

Saturday began with practice for all championship classes and the Stars competitors and finishing with Timed Practice for the Stars event. Race action then saw Round Seven of the Darley Moor Championship classes with the first Stars at Darley race a 15-lapper.

Jeacock was the best of the top runners

Sunday kicked off with Practice for all classes and the final round, Round 8 of the championships and the second Stars race.

Richard Cooper topped Saturday’s Stars Timed Practice session, with Jeacock 0.56sec slower, in second on their 1000cc machines. Zak Corderoy and Ryde were the highest placed 600cc machines in fifth and sixth respectively with Mark Goodings the highest placed Club competitor in seventh.

Cooper showed his determination in Saturday’s Stars race, that extra half a second of speed making the difference to the pack, leading from the opening lap he was then able to stretch his advantage on every lap, eventually taking the win by almost 10sec.

 After initially having a battle with Ryde, Jeacock then got the better of McGuinness on lap four, moving into second spot he was then able to stretch out a three-second advantage over him.

Ryde was able to keep his 600cc machine in fourth place, a further three seconds back on McGuinness, whilst Goodings was the first regular Darley runner coming home sixth place.

Sunday’s race looked like it was going to be a similar affair during the opening laps, Cooper enjoying a 1.5sec lead after lap three, but then disaster struck and he failed to finish lap four, the bike suffering a mechanical problem as Jeacock then took over the lead. McGuinness was second and Club regular Josh Daley, who only raced on Sunday after rounding out his No Limits endurance season at Brands on Saturday, in third place.

Jeacock was able to enjoy a 4.5sec lead at the flag, but McGuinness succumbed to the pressure from Daley who moved into second spot on lap five and opened a similar advantage over McGuinness at the flag.

Once again Ryde was the top 600cc finisher in fifth place and Goodings repeated his sixth place finish. Disaster for Cooper was luck for Jeacock who took the Stars at Darley title for the first time.

McGuinness, who has raced at every ‘Stars’ meeting since 1998, finished Runner-Up in the aggregate standings and Kyle Ryde’s effort on his 600cc machine saw him finish third, the highest place finish ever for 600cc machine.

Goodings received the John Newbold Trophy for finishing fifth Overall, the highest placed Club regular.

Click here for results from Darley Moor Rounds 7-8 and the Stars at Darley

You may also read!

Darley Moor: The rest of the action from the Stars at Darley

DARLEY Moor club championships came to a close on Sunday as the 2021 title winners were all decided. After taking

Images: Neil Lambert

Wirral 100: The rest of the action from the Anglesey Grand

NEARLY 30 races rounded out the Wirral 100 season as championships went down to the wire this past weekend. All


Masters Superbikes: Records rewritten as support class champs crowned

SUPPORT class champs were crowned in record-breaking fashion last weekend as the Masters Superbike Championship came to a head


Mobile Sliding Menu