CRMC: All the action from Mallory Park

In Classic, CRMC, News
Image: Neil Kirby

CLASSIC racing crews rolled into Mallory Park last weekend as the CRMC kicked off its 2021 championship.

George Hogton-Rusling opened his 1300cc class account with victory on his Hercberg BSA, but after a DNF in the final race of the weekend it was Graham Williams who took the honours.

Meanwhile, Pete Boast bagged both Supermono wins on a Tigcraft KTM no less than three seconds clear of Andrew Widdowson’s CRF450 as Grant Goodings and Simon Walsh split the PC400 honours.

Hogton-Rusling was back out on winning form in the Classic F750 class on his Triumph, winning just a second clear of Ian Steltner in race one and clearing off ahead of BSA Rocket man Dan Ingham in race three, but a race two DNF allowed Graham Higlett to take the F750 win.

In the PC750 ranks, John Paget drew first blood with a clear victory over Garry Hirons, while Darren Cooper only just pipped Chris Mayhew by 0.02sec before beating William Paget to take two wins on the bounce.

Tom Hayward destroyed the PC125 field in race one, winning with a margin of some 18sec clear of James Blackmore as Stuart Cox held off David Tetley for third. And it was more of the same in races two and three for Hayward as he bagged another two wins to make it a hat-trick, with Oliver Cooper taking two seconds ahead of Blackmore.

In the Classic 200 class, Richard Cheetham got the better of Michael Titchmarsh with the GT250 Suzukis of Andrew Thornton and Jerry Longland just behind. But it was an RD250 one-two in the final race as Andrew Green beat Joe Woodward by 2.6sec as Cheetham and Charles Murdoch took class wins further back.

Roads man Dom Herbertson took the overall and Air-cooled 500 class win in his TX500 almost four seconds clear of Alex Sinclair’s TZ350, with Jamie Edwards some 16sec further back. But Herbertson couldn’t make it two overall wins as he missed out on the top spot some 1.4sec behind Ant Hart as the two both took class wins ahead of Edwards and Neil Watson.

Over in Sidecar alley, Adrian and Bob Dawson took the opening outfit win on their BMW with Brian Gray and Greg Pymm beating Danny Quirk and Dylan Weston to second. But David Lissman and Mark Leeton where the men to beat in race two, only just pipping Jack Gristwood and Alice Smith by 0.136sec as Gray and Pymm took third.

Mark Taylor beat Dominic Clegg to the punch in the Production class opener as the FZs were separated by more than two seconds, but Clegg made it a closer affair in race two as he narrowed the gap to just 0.829sec in race two with Taylor doubling up, leaving Richard Justice and Malc Sampson to split thirds.

In the first Classic 350 scrap, Tetley took point and powered two seconds clear of Mark Cronshaw to bag victory in race one, with Boast in third, but it was Herbertson back on top in race two as the Geordie took the win 0.347sec ahead of Cronshaw with Joe Barton rounding out the rostrum.

Ducati man John Dieterman destroyed the field Superbike race, beating Superstock winner Simon Bastow by 21.7sec as Bastow took class victory less than a quarter of a second clear of fellow Suzuki rider Mark Bostock. They were all knocked back in race two, however, as Barton took his P&M 1260 to the win almost half a second ahead of Dieterman’s TTF1, with Richard Molnar’s Ducati grabbing third.

Barton also bagged top honours in the ACU 500 battle, winning the scrap with three seconds to spare over Cronshaw and Molnar, while Herbertson won the 350 race as Tetley and Walsh took second and third.

In the ACU big bike battle, Dieterman got the better of Barton by just 0.326sec as Hart took third 11sec adrift, as Herbertson took the PC750 win on his 500 with the VFR750s of Neil Robinson and Martin Ingham completing the podium.

*Click here for results from CRMC Round 1 at Mallory Park

You may also read!

No Limits Racing: Earnshaws Motorcycles bag Croft endurance win

JAMES and Jonathan Lodge scored victory for Earnshaws Motorcycles this weekend as No Limits Racing's National Endurance series hit


RESULTS: No Limits Racing Round 4 – June 12-13, 2021

All the times and race results from No Limits Racing Round 4 at Croft... SATURDAY [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - CFMoto


RESULTS: BSSO Round 2 – June 12, 2021

All the times and race results from BSSO Round 2 at Three Sisters... [showhide type="post1" more_text="Race 1 - BSA Bantam


Mobile Sliding Menu