British Historic Racing round-up: All the action from Anglesey Circuit

In BHR, Classic, News, Supermono GB

BIKES from every age of racing headed to the Welsh coast this weekend as the British Historic Racing club took over Anglesey Circuit.

Richard Hawkins swept the Lacey Ducati Championship races with four commanding wins, the first on Saturday ahead of Michael Fox and Gavin Mills, and the second ahead of Andy Hunt and Charles Davies. On Sunday, Hawkins continued his win streak as Mills scored two seconds and Hunt bagged two thirds.

Alongside them in the same races, Ian Scutt took three Rex Caunt Racing Formula BSA Bantams wins while Robert Duesbury nabbed the final victory of the weekend.

Davies was all but unstoppable aboard a Ducati – not unlike the other Davies on that other Ducati…

Lee Moore drew first blood in the Bob Newby 1963 to 1972 / Pre 1963 351-500cc Solo battles with two outright wins over Dave Matravers as Mike Bevan and Stefan Radakovic took turns at the podium. But Matravers struck back and doubled up comfortably on Sunday with his own brace of wins ahead of Bevan and Ian Henshaw.

Ducati-mounted Davies (Charles not Chaz) took three wins of his own in the 1963 to 1972 250cc Solo class, two from Henshaw and one from Hunt as the runners-up both took a turn at third along with Stuart Noble.

But Hunt got the better of Davies in the final race on Sunday to win by 2.4 seconds as Mills took the final step of the podium. Arron Rogers took three Tuers Garage Championship class victories while Keith Riley took the other.

Classic racing heavy-hitter James Flitcroft destroyed the pack in Saturday’s Woodland Oil 1963 to 1972 over 500cc Solo Specials races aboard his Norton Commando 750 with a combined gap of nearly a minute over Bevan, as Clive Somerfield and Daniel Pritchard shared rostrum honours.

Bamber powered his Lambretta home first in three of the eight BSSO Solo Scooter Championship races…

With Flitcroft missing from the grid on Sunday, Bevan took to the front and cruised to two wins, the first ahead of Pritchard and Jack Hebb, and the second from Graham Buller and Michael Brown. Buller also scored a hat-trick of wins in the D&M Engineering Pre 1984 Japanese Air Cooled Solo up to 998cc while Robert Bevan managed one.

Hawkins continued his charge when he swept the Goodwin 1963 to 1972 / Palletforce Pre-1963 251-350cc Solo championship, with the first race win three seconds clear of Matravers and Buller. But the latter three races weren’t as easy, and he only beat Matravers to the line by under 0.6 seconds each time as Henshaw bagged three thirds.

Novice Championship honours went to SR500-mounted Shaun Mulligan, who sailed home some 17 seconds clear of Andrew Widdowson and nearly 51 seconds ahead of Pritchard.

Yamaha 700 rider James Luck and KTM 650 pilot Daniel Ledger split the four Supermono GB wins down the middle, with one each on Saturday and one each on Sunday. Two F1,F2,and F3 Solo Pre 1986 triumphs went the way of Robert Bevan, while Nic Powell and Richard Stubbs split the remaining honours.

Stubbs also had the lone victory in the Bonhams Auctioneers Championship with a two second win over Powell and Scott Harris.

Whitehouse and Weston took a lone victory in the Irving Racing Sidecar Championship…

Russell Bleach and Penny Daws opened and closed their weekend with wins in the first and last Irving Racing Sidecar Championship scraps, as fellow protagonist outfits Stephen Mann/Philip Wade and Dennis Whitehouse/Dylan Weston also grabbed one each.

Fellow outfit fast-men Sean Hegarty and James Neave nabbed three out of four victories in the Penguin Speedshop / Sidecar Radio races while Bibby and Heaney took the other. The latter duo took two runner-up finishes on Saturday as Bill and Maggie Tuer had them in the bag on Sunday.

Bibby and Simons-Weston took home both Morgan Three Wheeler Club Challenge race wins while Reynolds/Edwards and Bibby/Heaney both finished with a second each as the latter pair shared a third place with Smith/Perry.

A fortnight on from his Moto Time Attack podium, Darren Conneely powered his Lambrettas to five wins with his home club, the BSSO Solo Scooter Championship, while main title rival Lee Bamber took the other three.

*Click here for the full results round-up from British Historic Racing Round Four

*Images: Lee Hollick

You may also read!

Suzuki ‘investigating’ GSX-R125 wheel failures

SUZUKI has launched an investigation into the GSX-R125 wheel collapses which hit a number of teams at the track

Image: Jacques Van Eeden

Multiple GSX-R125 wheels collapse at Whilton Mill races

AT LEAST six GSX-R125 wheels were reported to have collapsed as a result of Freetech Endurance action at Whilton


LIVE: Freetech UK Endurance Round 1

FOLLOW all the action from the Freetech UK Endurance season opener with this live stream from Whilton Mill. With race


Mobile Sliding Menu