Bob Mac Classic: All the action from East Fortune

In Classic, News

CLASSIC racers descended on East Fortune this weekend for a packed programme of action at the Bob McIntyre Memorial meeting.

And with over 100 riders and sidecar teams on tap at the Scottish circuit, including the visiting Camathias Cup outfits, the annual SCRMC scrap was set to be a flyer.

Owen chalked up five wins between the 500s and 350s...
Owen chalked up five wins between the 500s and 350s…

Hefyn Owen and Julian Tillotson both stole the show with five wins apiece between the Twins, 350 and 500 classes.

With a handle on the rest of the field, Welshman Owen opened his weekend account with victory 1.7sec ahead of Tillotson after a dice in the opening Twins race, before backing it up with another in the first 500 scrap just 0.2sec clear of trouble. But Tillotson then stormed to the next four 500 race wins on the trot with Owen and Stephen Atkin sharing runner-up honours.

And while he missed out on another trophy in the second 350 race, Owen beat James Gerrard to two race wins by no more than 0.7sec while Atkin and Stuart Gray shared thirds some three seconds further adrift.

Richard Cheetham was on for a clean sweep in the SCRMC’s 250 class with four wins in the bag over Dvaid Whitehouse and Charles Davies, but Davies got the better of him on the penultimate lap of race four to take victory by just over a second.

McGaw bagged one Post Classic Junior win, but was close to more on her F400 machine...
McGaw bagged one Post Classic Junior win, but was close to more on her F400 machine…

In the PC 125 ranks, Ewan Hamilton joined Owen and Tillotson in the five-win club as he dominate the field to beat Jerry Lodge and Robin Lamb with time to spare as David Tetley, Nev Busson and Chris Gunson shared podium honours. Tetley also took two dominant wins in the Singles class.

Paul Kirkby, Robin Lamb and Gillian McGaw scored a win apiece in the first three Post Classic Junior races, but it was a two-horse race in the final two as McGaw and Kirkby went at it. The pair were head-to-head for the majority of both races and despite the lady racer nabbing a brief lead, Kirkby buttoned up another two wins to complete his Post-Classic hat-trick.

While Gordon Murray was the man to beat in the Post Classic Senior ranks on Saturday with two wins over Howard Selby and David Suddes, Selby took control on Sunday as he led lights to flag and chalked up three on the trot, pipping Iain Robertson to each one.

Classic outfit aces Thirkell and Johnson celebrating another victory...
Classic outfit aces Thirkell and Johnson celebrating another victory…

Tony Thirkell and Trevor Johnson dominated Saturday’s Sidecar proceedings with two wins on the bounce ahead of David Lissman and Mark Leeton, but it was all change on Sunday as Keith Walters and Alun Thomas broke up the party.

After beating Lissman and Leeton in Sunday’s opener, Thirkell and Johnson lost out by less than a second after a late battle, which allowed Walters and Thomas to escape as they crossed the line with 0.835sec to spare.

Thirkell and Johnson took the flag a dominant 15sec clear of Andy Nourish and Micheal Leeflang in the penultimate race of the day after the latter held off Clive Faulkner and Brian Robson by less than 0.250sec to take second, but Walters and Thomas were back on top in the final as they pipped Lissman and Leeton by a mere 0.258sec.

*Click here for results from the 2019 Bob Mac Classic

*Images: Jennifer Charlton

You may also read!

Image: Steve Bird

CRMC Pembrey finale axed amid new ‘lockdown’ restrictions

CLASSIC racers will be forced to abandon the remainder of their 2020 season after next weekend's final round at


No Limits Racing: The rest of the action from Cadwell

REIGNING champs, lady racers and new series leaders rolled into Cadwell Park this weekend for No Limits Racing's penultimate


Darley Moor: Daley, Bradbury, Walters and Hanks-Elliott among opening round winners

DARLEY Moor burst back into life this past weekend as the club's riders hit the Tarmac for the opening


Mobile Sliding Menu