Bemsee: The rest of the action from Cadwell Park

In Bemsee, News
Images: JTW Motorsport Photography

BEMSEE racers scorched back into action last weekend as the club returned for it second round of the season at Cadwell Park.

And with one round already in the bag pre-lockdown, the championship contenders began to take shape.

Save a race one crash, it was a perfect weekend for Joe Thomas in the Team Green and Senior 300 class, after setting pole and winning the remaining three races.

Head and shoulders above the competition, the Senior 300 rider was lapping four seconds quicker than his rivals in race one, before binning it on the final lap.As a result, the win went to Jack Kirsch, from Mickey Hardie and Cameron Brown, an all-Junior Cup podium, while Mark Hardy took the Senior win in fourth.

Team Green points leader Thomas en route to three wins…

From then on, however, Thomas was untouchable, and won race two by nearly 15sec. Second, and the Junior Cup win went to Hardie, with Joe Farragher third.

Thomas doubled-up on Sunday, beating Hardie again in the day’s opening. Third went to Brown. In the final race he was joined on the podium by Junior Cup winner Kirsch and Hardie.

Roads man Jamie Coward brought his Z650 Supertwin dominated the hotly-contested Thunderbike Sport class after qualifying on pole and scoring a hat-trick with wins by no less than 14sec.

As Coward rode away into the distance, Aaron Staniforth held second but crashed out on the final lap. Jak Sim and Chris Burrage’s battle for third became the race for second, and as they took the chequered flag, Sim took silver.

Race two, held over to Sunday, followed a similar pattern with Coward way out in front. His dominant win came ahead of James Reveley and Elliot Fricker, with series leader Sim in fourth place.

Coward again dominated race three, but behind it became a race of attrition, with front runners Malvern May, Matt Hinnels, Edward Watson, and Burrage all failing to finish. In the end a space out podium was completed by Fricker, 14sec down on Coward, with Reveley another 12sec back.

With Coward out for race four, Fricker seized the advantage to take the win, narrowly taking the chequered flag ahead of Cedric Bloch. But he was then slapped with a 10-second penalty for passing under yellow flags, demoting him to fourth, as Bloch snagged victory.

Roads ace Coward rocked up for some extra track time on a Supertwin…

Josh Harvey was in dominant form in the BMCRC Thunderbike Ultra series at the weekend, picking up all four class wins, including three overall victories.

Steve Palmer and Stacey Killworth completed the all-Ultra podium in race one, with the Extreme class win going to Sim, who arrived at Cadwell Park as joint series leader with Andy Saunders.

Sim extended his Extreme class points lead with outright victory in race two, with Harvey second and lead Ultra rider across the line. The top-three was completed by Mark Wilby.

Harvey, Killworth, and Wilby stood on the podium in race three, and formed the top-three in the Ultra class, with Saunders the winning Extreme rider.

The weekend’s fourth and final race concluded with Harvey taking the overall win, with Palmer second. Saunders was again the Extreme class winner, in third.

After finishing runner-up in 2019, Scott Carson staked his claim as favourite for the 2020 Yamaha Past Masters crown as he took three wins and a second to assume the championship lead.

He took pole by nearly two seconds and won the weekend’s opening race by nearly eight, while the next fastest rider was former champion Peter Branton, with 2019 champion Doug Edmondson third. Top-ranking Clubman rider was Neil Grant in seventh, with Damian Lee top rookie in 19th.

Triple-winner in the YPM ranks, Carson has taken the points lead…

Branton manage to go one better in race two, beating Carson to the chequered flag, with third going to an impressive Paul Toland. Douglas Beacock bagged the Clubman win in eighth, with Lee 17th and again the rookie class winner.

It was a brace of victories for Carson on Sunday as he was joined on the podium by Branton and Andy Bown in race one, and Bown and Toland in the last race. Neil Grant took both of the day’s Clubman wins while Lee completed a clean-sweep of rookie wins.

Chris Burrage stretched his Formula 400 championship lead as he rode unchallenged in race one as the only two appeared to stand any chance of stopping him, Andy Gill and Richie Welsh, both failed to finish.

Mark Thompson claimed second with James Seath third, while the Sub-64bhp class winner was Shane Beasley in fifth.

Drizzle in race two had no impact on Burrage’s dominance, as he raced away to take victory by over 20 seconds. A lonely second place went to the Sub-64bhp winner aboard a Yamaha Past Masters-spec Yamaha TZR250, with Gill third, a further 16 seconds adrift.

Burrage secured his third win of the weekend in the first of Sunday’s two races, lapping some three seconds a lap quicker than runner-up finisher Welsh, as Seath took third and Carl Johnstone collected the Sub-64bhp win.

Not taking to the track for race four, Burrage arguably handed victory to Welsh, as Seath and Thompson squabbled over second, the pair split by half a second at the flag. Johnstone, in sixth, took another Sub-64bhp win.

Atkinson stormed the Blue Haze class on his TZ…

In the four Blue Haze Two-Stroke GP class races over the weekend at Cadwell Park it was a masterclass at the front from South African Phil Atkinson, as he converted pole to four wins. The podium was completed by Kevin Wholey and Jason Burrill in race one, before Mark Ess and Roger Marsh mounted the podium in race two.

Wholey was back on the box in race three, this time in third place as Bruce Dunn raced to the runner-up spot behind Atkinson, before returning to the second step in the final race, as Liam McCarter took his first podium of the weekend in third. In the GPF class Paul Toland took three wins, the fourth going to Richard Haywood.

Peter Woodall took all BMZRC 250 four wins at the opening round of 2020 at Brands Hatch, and with three wins at Cadwell Park extended that advantage.

But in typical MZ fashion, the results didn’t come easily, with the podium in race one covered by half a second. Woodall took the win, but former champion Chris Rogers and Andrew Wales pushed him all the way.

Wales’ victory in race two was a slightly comfier affair, with Woodall unable to find the pace to challenge for the win, taking second instead. Third went to Chris Kent. But Woodall was back to winning ways in race three, beating Wales and Rogers – the duo fighting over the silver medal spot – by three seconds.

One and a half seconds covered the podium in the final race, as Woodall returned to the top step, joined this time by Kent with Rogers third.

*Click here for results from Bemsee Round 2 at Cadwell Park

You may also read!

Suzuki ‘investigating’ GSX-R125 wheel failures

SUZUKI has launched an investigation into the GSX-R125 wheel collapses which hit a number of teams at the track

Image: Jacques Van Eeden

Multiple GSX-R125 wheels collapse at Whilton Mill races

AT LEAST six GSX-R125 wheels were reported to have collapsed as a result of Freetech Endurance action at Whilton


LIVE: Freetech UK Endurance Round 1

FOLLOW all the action from the Freetech UK Endurance season opener with this live stream from Whilton Mill. With race


Mobile Sliding Menu