Bemsee: Six wins for Davies in Minitwin and 400 scraps

In Bemsee, News

GLYNN Davies kick-started his 2019 racing campaign with six wins across two classes as the BMCRC paddock regrouped for the new season.

Davies nabbed three wins apiece in the MRO Minitwin and the EDIasia Formula 400 classes at the opening round at Brands Hatch Indy.

Once again, the Minitwin class boasted packed grids with some of the hottest action of the weekend and Davies drew first blood as he set pole.

Dan Singleton leads a Minitwin train on his way to the opening win…

But it was reigning champ Dan Singleton who took the win in the first race of the season, fending off Davies who hassled him all the way to the chequered flag, along with Keith Povah, who finished third.

There was a tight scrap for top rookie honours too, although this was all undone when Matt Wetherell was handed a 10-second penalty and Tommy Downes took the 25 points.

It was Singleton’s turn to chase Davies in race two, but an early crash brought his challenge to a halt and Davies took the chequered flag by seven seconds. Povah was second ahead of David Twyford, as Wetherell put the disappointment of race one behind him to finish fifth overall and take the Rookie win.

It was a repeat podium in the first of Sunday’s races, albeit by a narrower margin of victory for Davies. It was also a close scrap for the final podium place between Twyford and former MZ and Yamaha Past Masters champion Mark Taylor, with Twyford securing by less than a tenth of a second. Wetherell was top rookie once again.

Burrage held off Davies in the first 400 battle…

A lights-to-flag win for Davies in the final race gave him the championship lead, while half a second covered four riders squabbling over second and third. Taylor secured the runner-up spot ahead of Singleton, Twyford, and Povah. Wetherell made it three Rookie wins with a sixth overall.

Davies also took a trio of wins in the Formula 400s, although he initially lost out to Chris Burrage, who also snagged a pair of 600 wins.

Burrage qualified on pole on his Seton Tuning Kawasaki, and took victory in race one, narrowly holding off Davies. Third went to Matthew Scott as the Sub-64bhp class win went to Doug Edmondson

But the race one winner was hit by mechanical woes ahead of the second race which left him sidelined for the remainder of the event, giving Davies free rein to take the other three wins.

Yet it was far from plain sailing, as Scott finished second in race two by a quarter of a second. Welsh was third and Edmondson again the Sub-64 winner in fourth.

It was repeat of the top four in both of Sunday’s races, with a similarly narrow margin of victory for Davies each time, as Edmondson also notched up two more Sub-64 wins.

*Click here for results from Bemsee Round 1

*Images: JTW Motorsport Photography


You may also read!

RESULTS: Pre-TT Classic Road Races – May 24-27, 2019

All the practice/qualifying times and race results from the Blackford's Pre-TT Classic Road Races... *Image: Paul Soulby Monday,27 May [showhide type="post14" more_text="Race

John Cronshaw (6) leads a gaggle of Classics on his way to a 500cc class clean sweep...

Aintree cancels remaining rounds

CLUB chiefs at Aintree MRC have revealed their decision to axe the final three rounds in the midst of


Isle of Man TT: Harrison tops opening practice

DEAN Harrison opened his 2019 Isle of Man TT account by leading the opening practice session this afternoon as


Mobile Sliding Menu