ARA: Parker and Neve retain Jurby endurance crown

In ARA, News

RORY Parker and Craig Neve demolished the opposition to end the Andreas Racing Association season on a high as they defended their endurance title.

The duo retained the crown they won last year, leading nearly all of the flag lead to stamp their authority on the Manx circuit, winning both their class and the overall accolade yesterday.

After sticking their Parker-Neve Racing Kawasaki on pole, Parker grabbed the early lead and started stretching a gap.

A year on from their last Jurby endurnace win, Parker and Neve did it again...
A year on from their last Jurby endurnace win, Parker and Neve did it again…

And despite extending a lead of three laps at one stage in the race, the pair lost time in the pits as their ZX10 wouldn’t start, which allowed Andy Dudgeon, their nearest challenger along with James McLaren of the Slick Performance squad, to close the gap to just over a lap.

But Parker held on in the last stint of the day with a bit more than a lap in hand to give he and Neve their second victory on the trot.

“We started the race with the same game plan as last year, with the aim of winning the race in the slowest time possible,” Neve told UK Clubsport.

“Last year we did 192 laps and broke the record and this year we did 187. That was with three safety car sessions, so we were potentially faster this year.

“We had a mega day’s racing overall with a top team effort by Rory, Andy, Alan, Swifty and Jane.”

Second overall were Dudgeon and McLaren, who bagged the 600cc class win, 10 laps ahead of third-placed Frankie Stennett and Michael Evans of Daft C Racing.

Brendan Fargher and Dave Quine took fourth and the 650cc class win on the Martin Bullock Manxsport ER6 Supertwin, ahead of Jason Corcoran and Paul Cassidy, while Darren Creer and Richard Bregazzi rounded out the overall top six with the final 600cc podium spot.

Runners-up in the 650cc ranks were Illiam and Milky Quayle with Grant Gaskins, leaving Billy and Laurence Cummins to complete the class rostrum.

*Click here for results from the ARA endurance at Jurby

*Images: Tracey’s Pics

You may also read!

Sunday start among proposed Manx GP/Classic TT schedule changes

MANX Motor Cycle Club chiefs have revealed a number of proposed schedule changes for 2020 in a bid to


New proposed schedule for Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT

Check out the full proposed 2020 Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT schedule, with new changes to the practice


2019 UK Clubsport Rider of the Year: Luke Hopkins

WE may have revealed all of our reader voted winners for this year’s UK Clubsport awards, but now it’s


Mobile Sliding Menu