Andreas Racing Association round-up: The action from Round One

In ARA, Jurby, News

RYAN Cringle began his 2017 campaign in style with four wins at the weekend’s opening round of short circuit action on the Isle of Man’s Jurby Race Track.

The Douglas resident took on the event aboard a Triumph 675 and a BMW S1000RR in both the 600cc and 1300cc Solo classes, and never missed a beat.

Winning both big bike races by over two seconds, 2013 Manx Grand Prix Newcomers B runner-up Joe Faragher and Yorkshire roads man Jamie Coward followed closely behind in the first race before swapping positions on the rostrum for the second race.

In the 600 battle, Cringle again took two victories, first over Coward followed by 2016 MGP Newcomers A victor Michael Evans, and as in the 1300cc race, the second and third place boys switched positions for race two.

Moly and Sayle pose for the togs on their way to setting an outright sidecar course record…

The outfits were out to play in the Jurby sunshine as well, but the bold yellow bike of TT staples Dave Molyneux and Dan Sayle was doing anything but playing, as the pair won the first 1300cc Sidecar race by a monstrous 36 seconds over second place Ryan Crowe / Harry Payne, while Karl Bennett / Joe Swan rounded out the podium a further eight seconds adrift.

Bennett and Swan took victory in the second race, but not before Moly and Sayle set a new 1300cc sidecar track record with a 1:09.557 around the former RAF base.

Matt Mylchreest doubled up dominantly in the Single, Twin & Triple Cylinder class while Richard Bregazzi did the same in the 1300cc Post Classic category.

In the 650cc, 400cc, 250cc and 125cc Solos (effectively the new Manx Grand Prix Lightweight category), it was TT veteran and Rider Liaison Officer John Barton who took two trophies home, the first over fellow TT veteran David Madsen-Mygdal and Mylchreest, and the second over David Quine to Madsen-Mygdal.

Winner of the 2014 Newcomers B MGP race Dean Osborne took a dominant victory in the first Steel Frame 600cc race of the day over Lewis Parkinson and Chris Bulley, but the two chasers made haste in race two and Osborne took the win by a mere 0.3 seconds.

Lest we not forget about the Newcomers category, where Chris Bulley took two wins with Paul Turner following him up in both. Gillian Chadwick rounded out the podium for the first race, while Jamie Cringle did so for the second.

The Andreas Racing Association makes its second appearance at Jurby for round two in just under four weeks’ time, on Saturday, April 22.

*Images: Malcolm Meddings

*Click here for full results from Andreas Racing Association at Jurby

You may also read!

Jordan eyeing NW200 podium

PAUL Jordan is hoping to break a spell of bad luck at this year's fonaCAB International North West 200


Classic machines set to roar into Oulton Park

WIRRAL 100 chiefs are gearing up for a weekend of classic heaven when they rock up to Oulton Park


ARA: The rest of the action from Round 1

MANX club racing action got off to a flying start this weekend as Andreas Racing Association riders hit Jurby


Mobile Sliding Menu