Two for Hutchy as Superstock TT finally goes ahead

In IOMTT, News, Roads

BINGLEY Bullet Ian Hutchinson chocked up his second win of the week and third Superstock victory on the bounce in the RL360 Quantum Superstock TT.

Old guard Michael Rutter had everyone at the edge of their seats as he led by over a second to Glen Helen on the opening lap, but by Ramsey he trailed front-man Hutchy by an equal amount as the Superbike TT winner pulled out nearly four more seconds as they crossed the start-finish line, with Peter Hickman just slotting into the runner-up spot.

The Bathams BMW of Rutter dropped slowly down the order on lap two, making way for Manxman Dan Kneen to snatch third place, but as the klaxon sounded for the only pit stops of the four-lap race, Hutchinson held a 6.7-second lead over Hickman and nearly a 13-second lead over the Braddan plumber.

With a swift fuel and tyre stop courtesy of Tyco BMW providing the Yorkshireman an eight-second advantage leaving the pits, he was able to stretch out his lead to 12.4 seconds as they crossed the line.

Although Hickman began to chip away at the lead on the final lap, it was too late a charge and Hutchinson was free to cruise to a 22-second victory for his 16th Isle of Man TT win and fifth in the Superstock category, as Hickman took his third podium of the week in second and Kneen nabbed his maiden rostrum finish in third.

Retirements included James Hillier, Bruce Anstey, Gary Johnson, Connor Cummins, Derek Sheils, Andrew Dudgeon, Marco Pagani, and Matthew Rees.

RL360 Quantum Superstock TT provisional top 10:

  1. Ian Hutchinson
  2. Peter Hickman
  3. Dan Kneen
  4. Michael Rutter
  5. Dean Harrison
  6. Michael Dunlop
  7. William Dunlop
  8. David Johnson
  9. Jamie Coward
  10. Horst Saiger

*Image: Isle of Man TT

*Click here for the full results round-up from the 2017 Isle of Man TT

You may also read!

New Supersport race revealed for Southern 100

ROAD racers could be in the running to win over £3000 as Southern 100 bosses reveal the Hunt's Motorcycles


Southern 100 media launch on tonight

SOUTHERN 100 Club chiefs will ring in a new year of racing this evening as they host the official


Team Classic Suzuki offering Bandit ride to FPR champ

SUZUKI stardom awaits this year's Formula Prostocks Bandit Challenge champion as the series winner gets the chance to race


Mobile Sliding Menu