Records fly at PDMCC finale

In News, PDMCC

PRESTON and District Motorcycle Club racers finished up their 2017 campaign this weekend as lap records were shattered in the season finale.

Paul Birch doubled up with both wins in the Primecare Training Classic races, taking two outright and 251cc to Unlimited class victories as Michael Wall and champion Brian Cooper shared runner-up finishes.

Paul Birch dominated both Classic 251-Unlimited races as he took both wins outright…

In the Post Classic up to 500cc class, Ian Beattie bagged each win with a third and fourth overall ahead of Derek Butler as latter edged out Beattie in the title chase by just four points.

Wigan’s Ben Heaton won both Classic up to 250cc class races by 30 seconds and set records in each race – the first a 50.040s and the second a 49.722s lap record on the Three Sisters Perimeter Circuit.

Former Isle of Man TT regular Rob Barber clinched the Formula 600 crown with two clear victories over Keri Morgan and Newcomer champ Lewis Arrowsmith as Keith Ferrari and Darren Higson each took podium honours in third.

Already the Team Hosker Steel Frame champion, James Leatham lost out twice in the steelie scraps to double-winner Tony Griffiths by 0.7 and 1.4 seconds as Denzyl Weavill completed the podium.

Unfortunately under red flag stoppage, Weavill and Leatham shared top honours in the Pre Injection battles as Richard Tomlinson and Dave Barnes took second and third each time.

Arrowsmith beat PDMCC powerhouse and Formula 600/1300cc champ Barber to the line in Open race two by just 0.028 seconds…

Race one was stopped halfway through for the air ambulance, while race two came to a halt just as Leatham completed his sixth lap due to an incident involving Weavill, who was previously running second.

With Arrowsmith missing from the PDMCC Marshals Club Newcomers grid after taking the title last round, Stephen Ryan cruised to victory in both the morning and afternoon races finishing ahead of James Morris and James Bodell while Thomas Gigg took two thirds.

Ryan also set a time of 44.507s on just the second lap of race two to break the Newcomers lap record.

Barber and Arrowsmith were back at it in the Rea Racing Dyno Centre 400-1300cc scraps, where the veteran competitor beat Arrowsmith to the chequered flag in race one by over four seconds as Keri Morgan cruised home in a lonely third.

But the newcomer slipped by the champ on the very last lap of race two and took the win by a slim 0.028 seconds.

Higson was also back out in action in the Roly Grigg up to 500cc races where he took the first win over eight seconds clear of John Price, but Price pipped him for victory in race two by just under 0.4 seconds on his first ever visit to the track as Andy Jackson took the final podium spot with the title to boot.

Mason clinched the Streetstock 125cc title after leading the season start to finish…

While Sam Clowes clinched the EVO crown at Round Four, the Streetstock 125cc championship was still up for grabs as Jessica Mason led the order heading into the series finale.

And despite Leatham beating Jackson to the line in both races, lady racer Mason’s two thirds allowed her to secure the title for PRB Racing after leading the entire season start to finish.

SK ART Forgotten Era champ Griffiths took to the grid to stamp authority on his title, but Price twice came out on top as Griffiths had to settle for second ahead of third-placed Mark Rayment and Stu Poulton.

King of the Twins Sam Eckersley swept both races with a second and third overall in the combined Forgotten Era battles, and even set a 43.791s class lap record in race one. Paul Birch and Wayne Martin completed the podiums with a second and a third each.

Simon Dillon dominated the first restarted Dootson Pnuematics Freetech 50cc race, but Scott Dootson edged him out over the line by just over two tenths of a second in race two as Dillon secured the championship and a new lap record of 47.231s.

*Click here for the full results from PDMCC Round 5

*Main and other images: Steve Snelling

*Arrowsmith image: Megan Aspinall

You may also read!

Editor’s note: No-one likes a sore loser…

Editor Zoë Burn on why not everyone will make the cut for our Riders of the Year awards…


Vote for UK Clubsport’s Rising Star of 2018

YOUNG talents flooded club racing grids up and down the nation this season, but a handful stood out as


GB Moto Endurance reveals NLR Twins line-up

GB Moto Racing bosses have revealed their three-pronged assault on No Limits Racing's National Endurance series for next season.


Mobile Sliding Menu