Manx GP: Wilson wins Newcomers B despite pit lane penalty

In Manx Grand Prix, News, Roads

EVEN a 30 second pit lane speeding penalty couldn’t stop Derek Wilson from victory today as he beat Ben Rosendaal to the line to win the Newcomers B race.

Just like their fellow A-class rookies, the B group racers were delayed by nearly an hour while Nicolo Cappella was taken to hospital following leg fractures in an incident at Braddan Bridge on first lap.

On the restarted first lap, Quine looked to be off to the races, but the local man dramatically retired early on and left his nearest rival Derek Wilson to the front of the predominantly Supertwin-filled pack.

The Irishman was off to the races, leading Rosendaal and Lee Bass by 12 and 15 seconds, respectively, as they came around for the pit stops at the end of lap two

But disaster struck for Wilson in the pits as he was slapped with a 30 second speeding penalty, putting him on the back foot for the third and final lap.

Incredibly, Wilson was able to pull back the penalty as he crossed the Mountain for the last time, and led Rosendaal across the line by eight seconds as Bass managed to come home some 57 seconds back to complete the rostrum.

Manx Grand Prix Newcomers B top 5 (provisional)

  1. Derek Wilson
  2. Ben Rosendaal
  3. Lee Bass
  4. Nick Southerwood
  5. Ian Stanford

*Click here for the full results round up from the Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT

*Images: IOMTT

You may also read!

RESULTS: Thundersport GB Round 1 – March 24-25, 2018

Full race results round-up from Thundersport GB Round 1 at Donington Park…


RESULTS: No Limits Racing Round 1 – March 24-25, 2018

Full race results round-up from No Limits Racing Round 1 at Snetterton…


Thompson: ‘We’re capable of top-fives’ on the Paton

JOEY Thompson believes he can break the top-five in the international road races this year after leaving his first


Mobile Sliding Menu