KMSC champions crowned at season finale

In KMSC, News, Scottish Championship

WHILE the Scottish Championship rolls on for one more round, the champions of Knockhill Motor Sports Club were crowned at the final round this weekend.

Alongside youngest-ever Superbike champion Lewis Rollo, the Scotwaste Superbike Clubman trophy went to Steven Watson after entering the round down on points.

Watson bagged all five KMSC Clubman wins by an average of eight seconds each time. He won the first ahead of Des Burns and Graham Bodel, then the second ahead of Dan MacLean and Bodel. And on Sunday, all three Superbike scraps ended the same with Bodel taking the runner-up spot and Burns completing the rostrum.

While Bergin (38) bagged two wins to Monie’s (12) none, the Suzuki rider was still able to clinch the Formula 600 title…

With his championship rival MacLean retiring in race four, Watson has also clinched the Scottish Super Cup title ahead of the final round at East Fortune in just over a fortnight.

Heading into the round with a 90-point lead over rival Ewan Gray and knowing points finishes would do the job, William Monie secured the Bitwise Formula 600 championship with just a single fourth place finish.

Steven Allison powered to the first KMSC 600 win on his ageing ZX6R five seconds clear of William Bergin and Patrick Forman. But fellow Kawasaki rider Bergin took the remaining two wins on Sunday, the first ahead of Bruce Birnie and Allison, then the second from Allison and Forman.

In the Scottish Championship races, Birnie stole two narrow wins from Monie, both by 0.28 seconds, as Allison and Bergin shared thirds. The fight will roll on to the final round after Birnie and Monie have now overtaken the absent Gray in the standings.

James McLaren has claimed the Shirlaws Formula 400 title in his first season aboard the little ZXR with a win and two runner-up finishes behind double-winner Ashley Robson.

McLaren claimed the F400 championship with a win and two seconds…

Just 33 points separated title contenders McLaren, Gordon Clark and Rod Walker heading into the series finale, but Walker retired late in race one and didn’t start races two and three while Clark’s trio of thirds wasn’t enough to take the crown.

Having already clinched the Skinner Motorcycles Formula 125 title at the last round, British Talent Cup competitor Jack Hart entered the final round looking to go out in style. And the Renfrew racer set himself up nicely to do so with pole position 1.3 seconds clear of Adon Davie, with Logan Turner completing the front row.

Hart cruised to the win in race one over 10 seconds clear of Turner and Joel Bavidge, but ran wide in race two and allowed Davie to slip by and take the win, with Bavidge once again in third.

It was much the same story in Sunday’s first race as Hart suffered front end issues yet again as Davie took advantage and bagged another win ahead of Hart and Bavidge.

But the champ was back to winning ways in the penultimate race after Turner crashed on the warm up lap and Davie followed him into the gravel, leaving Hart to a 15-second win from Bavidge and Jake Hooper. Davie looked to be on for a win in the final F125 race of the year, but he crashed when his rear wheel locked up, once again leaving the podium to Hart, Bavidge and Hooper.

With a clean sweep of the Knockhill club races, Alan McGregor was crowned Cupar Motorcycles Pre-Injection 600 champion after narrowly beating early leader Kieran Murray in the points chase. Murray entered the round with an 18-point advantage, and despite splitting the two Scottish Championship race victories with McGregor, was not able to amass enough points to retain his lead.

Alan McGregor took the Pre Injection 600 crown after a close fight with Kieran Murray all season long…

Two dominant wins over Murray gave McGregor the edge in the points chase, but the nail in the coffin was Murray’s last-race, last-lap DNF that took him out of title contention. Jon Dickie took a second and a third place finish while William Mason took two thirds.

McGregor also managed to win one of the Scottish Championship scraps from Dickie and Mason, but Murray got the better of him by nearly a second in race two as Dickie completed the podium.

Open Classic (CB500) Champion Jimmy Shanks had a run of smooth sailing this weekend knowing he already had the title in hand with an unassailable lead entering Round Four.

Despite the comfort, he pushed his little Honda to a brace of wins ahead of Steve Kain as Kain bagged the other two. They both took two seconds each as Andrew Barton and Allan Brookbanks took two thirds apiece.

Newcastle’s David Suddes took all four outright Open Classic wins aboard his SZR1000 Honda with an average gap of 26 seconds in each race.

The only female to take a title this year, Christine Watson raised the Calder Millerfield Over 50s/Female trophy after getting the better of Walker and Steve Crighton in the standings.

In the Novice battle, R6-mounted David Munro crossed the line 2.3 seconds ahead of the GSXR1000 of Steven MacIntyre, with Andrew Buchanan completing the podium a further 2.5 seconds adrift.

*Click here for full results from KMSC Round 4

*Main and top side images: David Dorward

*Bottom side images: Jim Campbell

You may also read!

Jenner joins Old Garage Legends for Junior Supersport debut

TEAM Green Junior Cup champion Owen Jenner has revealed he will team up with the Old Garage Legends squad


National Express: Rushby’s fast-track to BSB

Club racer Jordan Rushby looks back on a busy and eventful 2018 after a point-scoring debut season in the

John Shipley and Milo Ward (175) led the FSRA Pre-Injection action before retiring and putting paid to their weekend...

Vote for UK Clubsport’s F1 Sidecar Team of the Year

BIG bike outfits may be on the decline, but F1 sidecars still thrive in the clubs. Here's your chance


Mobile Sliding Menu