Final Melville MC champions crowned at series finale

In Melville, News, Scottish Championship

THE Melville MC completed its 2017 campaign this weekend as brand new club and Scottish champions emerged at East Fortune.

Mick Bell proved his season’s progress in the Bell Racing F1 outfit by dominating every Sidecar race alongside his brother Phil’s regular British Championship passenger Tony Belsey.

Less than a month on from partnering his cousin at Knockhill Motor Sports Club’s series finale, which sadly ended with Carl in A and E sporting a broken femur, Bell and Belsey destroyed the field this weekend as they scorched to pole and took each of the four with a monstrous average winning margin of 24 seconds.

Mick Bell and Tony Belsey blitzed the field, taking all four wins and the Melville Open championship…

The LCR Suzuki duo also clinched Melville’s Open Sidecar championship in the process, as Simon Robinson/Keith Liddle took two runner-up finishes and Jim Hamilton/Mick Fairhurst shared the others with Karl Pring/Chris Bonsall. Cumbrian Graham Hodgson and Phil Gravel also secured the Club championship.

Keith Shepherd dominated day one of racing in the CB500 class, cruising to both wins some five and six seconds clear of Allan Brookbanks and Jimmy Shanks. But the Gateshead racer didn’t have it so easy when the champ, Jodie Chalk, rocked up to play on Sunday.

The lady racer came from the rear of the pack to finish just three seconds behind Shepherd in race three as the latter completed his weekend hat-trick. And Shepherd did nearly the same in race four, but he just couldn’t find the edge on early race leader Chalk and had to settle for a runner-up finish just 0.183 seconds off the win.

Senior Post Classics runner Adrian McCarthy and Golden Era Post Classics champion Greg Haylott won three races apiece in their respective classes, but McCarthy came up just four points shy of the title as Gordon Murray took a sole Senior PC win and put himself into an untouchable position in the standings.

Paul Quinn was all but untouchable in the Sound of Thunder races, making a clean sweep of the class with two wins ahead of David Loudon and one each from Graham Mackie and Rae Milne. But with just three points to spare over challenger Gordon Sharpe, Loudon was crowned SoT champ.

Jon Dickie celebrating with some bubbly after claiming the Melville Club and Open Pre Injection 600 titles…

Local lad Adon Davie dominated the Formula 125 proceedings with four nearly untouchable wins ahead of Jack Hart and Joel Bavidge, but pint-sized Renfrewshireman Hart came out on top of the points and took the title.

Brian Nichol swept all four Junior Post Classic races, taking each win by an average of nearly 28 seconds as Alexander Robertson and Lewis Murray shared runner-up finishes. Murray also bagged two thirds as David Dick and Ally Cormack shared the other two, while Niki Robertson took all four Classic wins.

Pre Injection 600 ace Alan McGregor powered to the Scottish Championship title with three wins ahead of Jon Dickie, but it was Dickie whose three runner up finishes and a win helped him clinch the Melville Open and Club championships.

McGregor won each race by a comfortable 10 seconds, but Dickie slipped by at half distance in the final race of the season and held on to take victory by just over a second. Greg Haylott took three thirds to  Alex McGuinness’s one.

In the Pre Injection 1200 scraps, Tom Darrie secured the title after dominating the opening race to take maximum points from podium pals Scott Webley and Derek Wilkie. But with Darrie absent, Webley took charge of race two, taking the flag six seconds ahead of Wilkie and nine seconds clear of Jon Beattie.

And with both Darrie and Webley missing from action on Sunday, Wallace Mitchell dominated the field as he bagged wins in races three and four ahead of Phil Pugh and Adam O’Boyle.

*Click here for the full results from Melville MC Round 4 and the Scottish Championship finale

*Main image: David Dorward

*Sidecar image: Jennifer Charlton

*Dickie image: Jon Dickie Racing

You may also read!

Founds and Walmsley (72) en route to their third win of the season...

Vote for UK Clubsport’s F2 Sidecar Team of the Year

MAKE way solos, it's time to showcase the outfits - and now you can cast your vote for your


Vote for UK Clubsport’s Rookie of the Year 2018

HUNDREDS of racers donned orange vests this season, but a few stood out among the rest and now you


Vote for UK Clubsport’s Scottish Club Racer of the Year

RACING north of the border is a world its own, and the Scottish Club Racer of the Year award


Mobile Sliding Menu