EMRA: Simpson bags trophies as Penny takes Rookie title

In EMRA, News

ROB Simpson took home the Richard Moreton and the Craig Rudge Trophies from Mallory Park this weekend as Luke Penny secured the Ducati Coventry/JHP Rookie crown.

While season-long leader Penny could only manage a highest finish of second, he had enough wins and points in the bag to call himself champ after just one race.

Penny has dominated the series all through the year, and set out in the first scrap, the Craig Rudge Trophy race, at the head of the field closely pursued by his chief rival Tim Hudson.

But by half distance it was a three-way battle with Simpson coming through to take second and briefly to take the lead, only for Penny to regain it next time round.

As the final lap began it was Simpson again, but there was scarcely a wheel’s width between them, and at the finish Simpson took the win by three tenths of a second with Tim Hudson less than a second down in third. Second place gave Luke Penny the championship, but Rob took the Craig Rudge Trophy the short distance home to Barwell.

The second race was for the Richard Moreton trophy, and that too was a three-way scrap for most of the race, with Tim Hudson heading Simpson and Nic Sweet in the early laps until Simpson took over on lap four, and by half-distance Sweet was in second and closing.

On lap nine Sweet made it to the front but at the hairpin, Simpson, in his own words, ‘never pulled anything so hard in [his] life as that brake lever’ as he out-braked Nic and held on to win by a third of a second.

*Click here for results from EMRA Round 6

*Image: Robin Capon

You may also read!

WIN: UK Clubsport bobble hat/mug

Feeling chilly already? Fill out our latest survey and you'll automatically be in for a chance to warm up


Thundersport GB: Emotional Sportsman 600 title for retiring Guy

SPORTSMAN rider Andy Guy's early-season plans to retire were made a bit more difficult this weekend after taking an


Thundersport GB: Frear pips Wadsworth to Elite 600 title

DAN Frear saved the best for last as he edged Max Wadsworth to the GB Racing 600 Elite title


Mobile Sliding Menu