Classic TT: Fourth Classic win as Harrison defends Superbike crown

In Classic, News, Roads

DEAN Harrison destroyed the competition to take his second RST Superbike Classic win this evening in the final race of the 2018 Classic TT.

After four laps in comfortable control of the pack, the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki rider crossed the over a minute clear of Horst Saiger and Conor Cummins.

Austrian Saiger set off first down Bray Hill, but he dropped to 10th at Glen Helen as Harrison stormed into the lead, 2.5s clear of Gary Johnson and over five seconds ahead of Michael Rutter.

And while Rutter moved ahead of Johnson into second over the Mountain, Harrison had puled over 19s clear of the TT veteran by the time they began lap two.

Harrison continued to run away as the pack closed in on half distance, while YZR500-mounted Conor Cummins took advantage of Rutter’s retirement at Ballacrye to slot into second, 37.5s down on Harrison but 3.4s ahead of Suzuki man Johnson as they headed to the pits for fuel.

And the Manxman’s slow pit stop gave Harrison an even greater lead of nearly a minute heading onto the penultimate lap, leaving Saiger to tuck into second while Cummins fell to third, some nine seconds clear of Paul Jordan.

Retirements included Derek Sheils, Phil Crowe, John Barton, Joey Thompson, Jamie Coward, Danny Webb, Julian Trummer, Richard Wilson, James Hillier, David Johnson, Gary Johnson, Josh Brookes, Craig Neve, Wayne Axon, Rob Hodson, Mark Parrett, Paul Jordan, Davey Todd and Ben Wylie.

RST Superbike Classic TT Race results (provisional)

  1. Dean Harrison
  2. Horst Saiger
  3. Conor Cummins
  4. Andrew Dudgeon
  5. Jamie Coward
  6. Michael Evans

*Click here for results from the Manx Grand Prix and Classic TT

*Main image: Stephen Davison

You may also read!

WIN: UK Clubsport bobble hat/mug

Feeling chilly already? Fill out our latest survey and you'll automatically be in for a chance to warm up


Thundersport GB: Emotional Sportsman 600 title for retiring Guy

SPORTSMAN rider Andy Guy's early-season plans to retire were made a bit more difficult this weekend after taking an


Thundersport GB: Frear pips Wadsworth to Elite 600 title

DAN Frear saved the best for last as he edged Max Wadsworth to the GB Racing 600 Elite title


Mobile Sliding Menu