Champions crowned at penultimate PDMCC round

In News, PDMCC

AT least five champions were crowned this weekend as Preston and District MCC racers took on the club’s penultimate round.

Following many questions surrounding the club’s future due to financial circumstances at its home track, Three Sisters Circuit in Wigan, PDMCC officials forged ahead adamant on completing the rest of the season trouble free.

Arrowsmith leaning his Honda over on a damp Three Sisters Circuit on his way to the Newcomers trophy…

Having won six of eight races so far this year, after coming off the top step to finish second at the opening round, Rob Barber clinched the Rea Racing Dyno Centre 401-1300cc championship with ease.

The former Isle of Man TT regular doubled up on wins, taking the first ahead of Keri Morgan and Martin Robbins, then the second ahead of Joe Walton and Grant Gaskell.

Lewis Arrosmith has secured the PDMCC Marshals Club Newcomers crown after winning all but one race this season, where he finished second to James Bodell.

The rookie racer took two wins this weekend by eight and nine seconds as James Morris and Thomas Gigg shared a second and a third each. Arrowsmith has also been challenging for the Formula 600 title, where he may still have a chance to take top honours as he trails Barber by 30 points heading into the final round.

Following a clean sweep this Sunday, Daniel Tomlinson has put two hands on the Pre-Injection championship trophy and continued his perfect run of form that has seen nothing but wins this year.

Pre Injection champ Daniel Tomlinson has had a perfect run of form so far this year…

He bagged two comfortable victories to add to his flawless scorecard, taking the first nearly two seconds clear of Richard Tomlinson and the second six seconds ahead of James Leatham as Leatham and Denzyl Weavill shared thirds.

Brian Cooper has secured the Primecare Training Classic 251cc to Unlimited title after he split wins this weekend with Mark Butterworth. Butterworth took the lights to flag win in race one ahead of Cooper as Cooper nabbed victory in race two. Paul Birch finished third in race one.

Despite a DNF and third behind defending champion Joe Walton, Sam Eckersley took the Twins championship with a 43 point lead and only 30 available at the final round. Runner-up Martin Robbins took two second place finishes.

Sam Clowes also took the Streetstock 125 EVO title with a cleanly swept two wins over Ryan Garside and Dean Weight.

*Click here for the full results from PDMCC Round 4

*Images: Megan Aspinall

You may also read!

Ex BSB team boss launches new buying and selling website for racers

THINKING of selling this year’s race kit, or looking to upgrade to something slicker and quicker for 2019? A


EMRA racers gearing up for regular season finale this Sunday

EAST Midland Racing Association riders will descend on Mallory Park for the final round of nearly all classes this


Thundersport GB: Jinks ready to shake up Kramer domination

SUPERTWIN supremo Paul Jinks plans to topple the Kramers as he returns to Thundersport GB action with his number


Mobile Sliding Menu