Big Bike Rider of the Year: Phil Crowe

In Awards, IOMTT, News, Roads

LINCOLNSHIRE race ace Phil Crowe has bagged UK Clubsport’s Big Bike Rider of the Year award with nearly a quarter of the public votes.

The club hustler raked in 24 per cent of the total votes while Scotland’s Max Alexander, the 2017 Melville Club Superbike champion, finished with 21.2 per cent in the runner-up spot.

Knockhill Motor Sports Club Superbike supremo Lewis Rollo took 17.9 per cent to nab third.

Former Thundersport GP1 champ Crowe, who finished fourth in the club’s 2017 standings, took on a host of races this year between the roads and short circuits, taking to the top step of the podium at a number of events.

Known for rocking up at any circuit, with any club at any time of year and running at the sharp end, the BMW specialist took three wins with Thundersport, a clean sweep of Bemsee’s MRO Powerbikes and a narrow runner-up finish to National Superstock ace Chrissy Rouse during the inaugural Moto Time Attack at his home circuit, Cadwell Park.

He even bagged a point at the Louth track during a wildcard appearance in the National Superstock 1000 class. And despite what he called a ‘painful’ North West 200, Crowe flew to a 128mph lap at the Isle of Man TT and brought home a 14th place finish in the RST Superbike race.

*Image: Dave Yeomans

You may also read!

No Limits: The rest of the action from Croft

SUNSHINE and soaring temperatures greeted No Limits racers for round five of eight as the series hit Croft Circuit


Melville: The rest of the action from Round Two

MELVILLE racers broke lap and race records this weekend as the club rolled into East Fortune for its second


Aintree: The rest of the action from Round Three

AINTREE racers have just two rounds left to rack up points, and some titles are already dangerously close to


Mobile Sliding Menu