Anstey zips to second TT Zero win as championship day commences

In IOMTT, News, Roads

BEARDED pensioner and Kiwi speedster Bruce Anstey took the Mugen bike to his second and the team’s fourth win on the trot in the SES TT Zero race today.

The Japanese powerhouse fielded two entries on its new Shinden Roku electric motorcycle, one with the New Zealander and one with Guy Martin, the latter on his only ride of the day after recently pulling out of the Senior TT.

Anstey was the first of the eight starters off the line on Glencrutchery Road, pulling out a 10.7-second lead over Guy Martin at Glen Helen, with 2016 podium man Daley Mathison on the University of Nottingham machine a further 14 seconds in arrears.

And by the time they arrived at Ramsey to make the climb up the mountain, the Kiwi had stretched his lead to over 27 seconds and over one minute ahead of Mathison in third.

The gap expanded at the Bungalow, through Cronk-ny-Mona and to the Grandstand as Anstey took a commanding win with a 117.710mph lap, 41 seconds ahead of Martin and nearly 90 seconds ahead of Mathison.

“A big thanks to Mugen for bringing me back in at the last minute,” Anstey said. “I’ve had a tough week, things haven’t been going right for me. But hopefully this’ll pick me up for the Senior today.”

SES TT Zero provisional results:

  1. Bruce Anstey
  2. Guy Martin
  3. Daley Mathison
  4. Dean Harrison
  5. Antonio Maeso
  6. James Cowton

*Image: Isle of Man TT

*Click here for the full results round-up from the 2017 Isle of Man TT

You may also read!

Founds and Walmsley (72) en route to their third win of the season...

Vote for UK Clubsport’s F2 Sidecar Team of the Year

MAKE way solos, it's time to showcase the outfits - and now you can cast your vote for your


Vote for UK Clubsport’s Rookie of the Year 2018

HUNDREDS of racers donned orange vests this season, but a few stood out among the rest and now you


Vote for UK Clubsport’s Scottish Club Racer of the Year

RACING north of the border is a world its own, and the Scottish Club Racer of the Year award


Mobile Sliding Menu